News Nation Logo


FIR against Prakash Ambedkar for threatening to jail EC if voted to power in 2019

Ambedkar Has Formed The 'Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi', An Alliance With The Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), For The Upcoming Lok Sabha Polls.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 04 Apr 2019, 11:54:16 PM
Prakash Ambedkar (File Photo)

New Delhi:

An FIR has been registered against Bharip Bahujan Mahasangh president Prakash Ambedkar for allegedly making objectionable remarks against the Election Commission (EC) of India on Thursday. Addressing an election rally at Digras in Maharashtra's Yavatmal district, Ambedkar said he would jail the EC for two days if voted to power in 2019, alleging that the Commission nowadays is functioning as a BJP aide.

"We lost 40 soldiers (in Pulwama), but we are still sitting quietly. We have been asked not to speak on the Pulwama attack. How can the EC gag us? Our Constitution has given us the right to speak. I am not the BJP. If voted to power, we will jail the EC for two days," Ambedkar told the rally.

The State Election Commission had sought a report from the local poll officials on Ambedkar's speech, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Dilip Shinde told reporters.

A case has been also registered under Indian Penal Code (IPC) sections 503 (criminal intimidation), 505 (statements conducing to public mischief) and 189 (threat of injury to public servant) based on the complaint of the Yavatmal district collector at the Digras police station earlier in the day.

Ambedkar, the grandson of BR Ambedkar, is himself contesting the Lok Sabha election from Solapur and Akola in Maharashtra. He has also formed the 'Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi', an alliance with the Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls scheduled to be held between April 11 and May 19.

Asked about his remarks, Ambedkar said, "I said it in a general sense, but my comment on the EC was singled out".

Maharashtra, which is a representative of 48 Lok Sabha seats, will go to polls in 4 phases on April 11, 18, 23, 29. Seven-phase Lok Sabha Election is scheduled to take place between April 11 and May 19. The counting of votes for all phases will be taken up on May 23, 2019.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Apr 2019, 11:41:26 PM