News Nation Logo

Grand Alliance seals deal in Bihar: RJD to fight in 20 seats, Congress gets 9, Manjhi to contest from Gaya

Former Janata Dal – United President Will Contest On RJD Ticket. HAM President And Former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi Will Contest From Gaya Lok Sabha Seat.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 22 Mar 2019, 07:14:13 PM
Mahagathbandhan announces seat sharing for Bihar

New Delhi:

The Grand Alliance of opposition parties led by Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in Bihar has announced the seat-sharing agreement for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. According to the list announced, the RJD will contest on 20 seats, Congress on 9, Upendra Kushwaha’s Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) on 5, Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) 3 and, Vikasshil Insan Party (VIP) 3 and Left will contest on one seat from RJD’s quota.

Former Janata Dal – United president Sharad Yadav will contest on RJD ticket. HAM president and former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi will contest from Gaya Lok Sabha seat. Addressing the media on seat sharing with Congress, RJD spokesperson Manoj Kumar Jha said, "The alliance is being formed to save the Constitution. The grand alliance is a natural one." "We have decided nine seats for Congress and 20 seats for RJD," state RJD chief Ram Chandra Purve said. 

'CPI(ML) will contest one seat from the RJD quota. Five seats have been allocated to the RLSP and three to VIP and HAM(S) respectively. Jitan Ram Manjhi will contest from Gaya," Purve said.

Former chief minister and HAM(S) leader Jitan Ram Manjhi will be contesting from Gaya, while RLSP candidate Bhudeo Chaudhury has been fielded from Jamui. HAM(S) leader Upendra Prasad will contest from Aurangabad and RJD’s Veebha Devi from Nawada.

The Shiv Sena has also announced its first list of 21 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections, from its quota of 23 seats and retained most of the sitting members. As per the BJP-Sena alliance, the two ruling allies are contesting 48 parliamentary seats in the state in the ratio of 25:23, leaving nothing for its five smaller allies.

The BJP announced on Thursday evening its first list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections that begin next month. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will contest from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, the parliamentary seat he retained after winning two seats in the 2014 election while BJP president Amit Shah will fight from Gandhinagar in his home town Gujarat; a seat where BJP veteran LK Advani is the sitting lawmaker.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 Mar 2019, 04:26:10 PM