News Nation Logo

In UP's Azamgarh, 'bua' Mayawati appeals people to vote for 'bhatija' Akhilesh Yadav

There Are Five Assembly Constituencies Of Gopalpur, Sagri, Mubarakpur, Azamgarh And Mehnagar Under The Azamgarh Lok Sabha Seat.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 08 May 2019, 03:56:00 PM

New Delhi:

At a mega joint rally in Uttar Pradesh’s Azamgarh, Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati today appealed the voters to ensure the victory of her alliance partner and Samajwadi Party president in the Lok Sabha elections. Apart from Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav, Ajit Singh was also present at the rally. Hitting out at Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Mayawati said that, “we are not 'mahamilawati', it is PM Modi who is 'mahamilawati'.” Striking an emotional chord, Mayawati said that, “Akhilesh considers me as his senior. You all must think that it’s not Akhilesh but Mayawati who is contesting this poll.” It should be noted Yadav has often called the BSP chief as his ‘bua’ or aunt.

The PM has termed the mahagathbandhan' as the 'mahamilawati' (adulterated) alliance.

Rubbishing the BJP's claim that it was doing good in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, the Opposition 'mahagathbandhan' on Wednesday said that on the other hand the prospects of the opposition alliance was improving day by day.

"Our (electoral) prospects are improving...the prospects of the opposition alliance will further improve in the remaining two phases of Lok Sabha polls," BSP chief said.. She said ever since the 'mahagathbandhan' was formed to take on the saffron party, "BJP leaders have lost their sleep."

Dubbing the Congress and the BJP as two sides of the same coin, she said, "Dono kaa chaal chalan ek hai (both have same nature and character)." She said Modi will try to create more confusion in the days to come and appealed to the voters not to fall prey to his designs.

"Unkey (Modi's) achchey din ladd gaye (his good days are over) and bad days are staring at his face," she said.

Voters in the Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat have elected 18 members of Parliament in 16 general elections and two by-polls. Of the 18 MPs from Azamgarh, 12 have been a Yadav candidate.

There are five assembly constituencies of Gopalpur, Sagri, Mubarakpur, Azamgarh and Mehnagar under the Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat. Uttar Pradesh, which sends the maximum number of members to Parliament at 80, will go to polls in all the seven phases of the Lok Sabha election 2019. Azamgarh will vote on May 12 on Sunday. Votes will be counted on May 23.


For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 May 2019, 03:56:00 PM