News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Results: List of key winners from Odisha

The Party Had Won Nine Seats In 12th Lok Sabha In 1998, Which Rose To 10 In 1999 And 11 In 2004.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 24 May 2019, 07:27:04 PM
Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik

New Delhi:

The saffron storm, which swept parts of neighbouring West Bengal, also cut a swathe through Odisha, with the BJP bagging eight of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in the state. The ruling BJD's tally nose-dived from 20 to 12, while the Congress managed to bag just one seat. Propelled by the Modi wave, the vote share of the saffron party grew from 21.88 per cent in 2014 to 38.4 per cent, while that of BJD dropped to 42.8 per cent from 44.77 per cent.

For the first time since its inception, the BJD saw its Lok Sabha tally slide down. The party had won nine seats in 12th Lok Sabha in 1998, which rose to 10 in 1999 and 11 in 2004. After the party snapped ties with the BJP, ahead of 2009 elections, the regional party won 14 seats in the polls, while the saffron party had to eat a humble pie.

In 2014, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) put up a spectacular show, grabbing a lion's share of 20 Lok Sabha seats, while the BJP had to make do with just one constituency. Prominent among the BJP winners this time are Union minister Jual Oram, BJP national secretary Suresh Pujari, BJP state president Basant Panda, firebrand leader Pratap Sarangi and former bureaucrat Aparajita Sarangi.

Amid joyous scenes in the BJP camp, the defeat of two high-profile candidates, however, put the party in a spot. While BJP national vice-president Baijayant Panda lost the Kendrapara seat to BJD candidate and Rajya Sabha MP Anubhav Mohanty, national spokesperson of the saffron party Sambit Patra failed to wrest the Puri Lok Sabha seat from Pinaki Mishra of the BJD.

Panda, who was elected from Kendrapara in 2014 polls as a BJD candidate, had resigned from the regional party and the Lok Sabha membership last year, following differences with the senior leaders. Union minister Jual Oram saved the day for the saffron party by retaining the Sundargarh (ST) seat. He defeated his nearest rival and BJD nominee Sunita Biswal by a comfortable margin of 2,23,065 votes. 

Sl Constituency  Name of the Candidate Party Status  Votes
01 Aska Pramila Bisoyi Biju Janata Dal Won 204707
02 Balasore Pratap Chandra Sarangi BJP Won 12956
03 Bargarh Suresh Pujair BJP Won 63939
Chandra Shekhar Sahu Biju Janata Dal Won 94844
05 Bhadrak Manjulata Mandal Biju Janata Dal Won 28803
06 Bhubaneswar Aprajita Sarangi BJP Won 23839
07 Bolangir Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo BJP Won 19516
08 Cuttack Bhartruhari Mehtab Biju Janata Dal Won 121201
09 Dhenkanal Mahesh Sahoo Biju Janata Dal Won 35412
10 Jagatsinghpur Rajashree Mallick Biju Janata Dal Won 271655
11 Jajpur Sarmishtha Sethi Biju Janata Dal Won 101693
12 Kalahandi Basanta Kumar Panda BJP Won 26814
13 Kandhamal Achyutananda Samanta Biju Janata Dal Won 149216
14 Kendrapara Anubhav Mohanty Biju Janata Dal Won 152584
15 Keonjhar Chandrani Murmu Biju Janata Dal Won 66203
16 Koraput Saptagiri Sankar Ulaka Congress Won 3613
17 Mayurbhanj
Bishwewar Tudu BJP Won 25256
18 Nabarangpur Ramesh Chandra Majhi Biju Janata Dal Won 42900
19 Puri Pinaki Mishra Biju Janata Dal Won 11714
20 Sambalpur Nitesh Ganga Deb BJP Won 9162
21 Sundargarh Jual Oram BJP Won 223065

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 May 2019, 07:27:04 PM