News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: L K Advani congratulates PM Modi for steering BJP towards unprecedented victory

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: BJP Veteran L K Advani Congratulates PM Modi For Steering BJP Towards Unprecedented Victory.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 05:35:20 PM
Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 for 542 of 543 constituencies were held in 7 phases from April 11 to May 19. Currently, the counting of votes are underway and the BJP-led NDA is heading towards massive victory. As far as the trends are concerned, NDA is leading on 338 Lok Sabha seats out of 543, while UPA is leading on 98. Meanwhile, Others are leading on 106 seats. Overwhelmed with the BJP's performance, stalwart Lal Krishna Advani congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi for steering party towards unprecedented victory. 

In a statement, the BJP veteran said, "It's such a wonderful feeling that in a country as large and diverse as India, electoral process has been so successfully completed and for that, my compliments to the electorate and all the agencies involved." 

"Heartiest congratulations to Narendrabhai Modi for steering BJP towards unprecedented victory in elections. Shah as BJP chief and all dedicated workers of party have put in enormous effort in making sure that BJP's message reaches every voter," Lal Krishna Advani added. 

It is to be noted that BJP president Amit Shah has won Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat by a margin of more than 5 lakh votes, surpassing LK Advani's record of 4.83 lakh votes. Shah defeated the Congress candidate Chavda Chatursinh Javanji by margin of 5.43 lakh votes in Gandhinagar seat, one of the 26 Lok Sabha constituencies in Gujarat.

In 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Advani had won from Gandhinagar by a huge margin of 4.83 lakh votes against his closest opponent Kiritbhai Ishvarbhai Patel of Indian National Congress (INC).

Gandhinagar has been a stronghold of the BJP and since 1989 this constituency has been represented by a member of the saffron party. Late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee also represented this seat in 1996 but chose to resign it so that he could represent Lucknow in UP.

Interestingly, in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP-led NDA won 336 seats of 543, while the UPA won 59 seats, 44 of which were won by the Congress. 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 05:35:20 PM