News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha Elections 2019: 41 per cent female in Trinamool Congress list of candidates for West Bengal

The List Of Trinamool Congress Candidates Includes Several Bengali Screen Celebrities Like Mimi Chakraborty And Nusrat Jahan.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 14 Mar 2019, 01:20:28 PM
Mamata Banerjee said the outgoing Trinamool lawmakers whose names do not figure in the list will be drafted for party work. (Image Credit: ANI)

New Delhi:

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of Trinamool Congress candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state. While announcing the list, Trinamool chief said that she has decided to field 41 per cent female candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. “This is a proud moment for us,” she said.  

The Trinamool has dropped 10 sitting MPs. Banerjee said the outgoing Trinamool lawmakers whose names do not figure in the list will be drafted for party work. The list of candidates includes several Bengali screen celebrities like Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan.

Another popular actress Nusrat Jahan has been made the candidate from Basirhat, by dropping sitting MP Idrish Ali. Leading Bengali film hero Dipak Adhikari (Dev) would seek re-election from Ghatal Constituency.

From Howrah, Trinamool has renominated Arjuna awardee and former Indian football captain Prasun Banerjee. The Trinamool, she said, will also contest some seats in Odisha, Assam, Jharkhand, Bihar and the Andamans.

She also attacked the BJP and the Modi government, claiming she had information that ‘VVIPs’ were using helicopters and chartered flights to transport money to bribe voters.

The West Bengal chief minister assailed the Centre over a host of issues including the Rafale deal, farm distress and shrinking employment opportunities.

Here is the list of all candidates and their constituencies:

1. Paresh Chandra Adhikari from Cooch Behar

2. Dasrath Tirkey from Alipurduars

3. Bijoy Chandra Barman from Jalpaiguri

4. Amar Singh Rai from Darjeeling

5. Kanaia Lal Agarwal from Raiganj

6. Arpita Ghosh from Balurghat

7. Mausam Noor from Maldaha Uttar

8. Dr. Moazzem Hossain from Maldaha Dakshin

9. Khalilur Rehman from Jangirpur

10. Apurba Sarkar from Baharampur

11. Abu Taher Khan from Murshidabad

12. Maua Moitra from Krishnanagar

13. Rupali Biswas from Ranaghat

14. Mamata Bala Thakur from Bangaon

15. Dinesh Trivedi from Barrackpur

16. Sougata Roy from Dum Dum

17. Dr. Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar from Barasat

18. Nusrat Jahan from Basirhat

19. Pratima Mondal from Jaynagar

20. Choudhury Mohan Jatua from Mathurapur

21. Abhishek Banerjee from Diamond Harbour

22. Mimi Chakraborty from Jadavpur

23. Mala Roy from Kolkata Dakshin

24. Sudip Bandyopadhyay from Kolkata Uttar

25. Pasun Banerjee from Howrah

26. Sajda Ahmed from Uluberia

27. Kalyan Banerjee from Sreerampur

28. Dr. Ratna De Nag from Hoogly

29. Aparupa Poddar from Arambag

30. Dibyendu Adhikari from Tamluk

31. Sisir Adhikari from Kanthi

32. Deepak Adhikari from Ghatal

33. Beerbaha Soren from Jhargram

34. Dr. Manas Bhunia from Medinipur

35. Dr. Mriganka Mahato from Purulia

36. Subrata Mukherjee from Bankura

37. Shyamal Santra from Bishnupur

38. Sunil Kumar Mondal from Bardhaman Purba

39. Mamataz Sanghamita from Bardhaman Durgapur

40. Sreemati Dev Varma (Moon Moon Sen) from Asansol

41. Asit Kumar Mal from Bolpur

42. Satabdi Roy from Birbhum 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 12 Mar 2019, 05:40:07 PM