News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha polls 2019: BJP releases names of 28 candidates in Uttar Pradesh, 6 sitting MPs denied tickets

Out Of Uttar Pradesh's 80 Lok Sabha Seats, The BJP Has Sealed An Alliance With Apna Dal (Sonelal) For Two Seats.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 21 Mar 2019, 10:04:02 PM
Six sitting MPs have been denied ticket this time as the party is keen to overcome anti-incumbency. (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh are among 28 candidates in Uttar Pradesh the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced in its first list for Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The list was released by senior party leader JP Nadda in the national capital on Thursday.

Nadda said that PM Modi will seek re-election from Varanasi parliamentary constituency in Uttar Pradesh. Earlier, there were reports that the prime minister may pick another temple town Puri. As expected, the BJP has filed Smriti Irani from Amethi, home turf of Congress president Rahul Gandhi. She has been active in the area despite losing the seat in 2014 general elections. Film actress-turned-politician Hema Malini will again contest from her Mathura seat.  

General (retired) VK Singh, Minister of State for External Affairs, will contest from Ghaziabad parliamentary constituency in Uttar Pradesh. In 2014, Singh created history by winning the seat with a margin of 5.67 lakh votes. Other candidates from the seat were actor-turned-politician Raj Babber and journalist-turned-politician Shazia Ilmi. Ilmi, who contested on Aam Aadmi Party's ticket, later joined the BJP.

Out of Uttar Pradesh's 80 Lok Sabha seats, the BJP has sealed an alliance with Apna Dal (Sonelal) for two seats.

The ruling party is also expected to seal the deal with another ally Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP). Hours before the election model code of conduct came into effect, BJP-led Uttar Pradesh government had appointed leaders belonging to Apna Dal and SBSP to the state boards and corporations in order to pacify their alliance partners.

Six sitting MPs have been denied ticket this time as the party is keen to overcome anti-incumbency. Those who have been denied tickets are Prof. Ram Shankar Katheria from Agra (SC), Krishna Raj from Shahjahanpur (SC), Anshul Verma from Hardoi (SC), Anju Bala from Misrikh (SC), Choudhary Babulal from Fatehpur Sikri, and Satyapal Saini from Sambhal.

Here is the complete list of 28 candidates:

1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi

2. Raghav Lakhanpal from Saharanpur

3. Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan from Muzaffarnagar

4. Kunwar Sarvesh Kumar from Moradabad

5. Parmeshwar Lal Saini from Sambhal

6. Kanwar Singh Tanwar from Amroha

7. Rajendra Agrawal from Meerut

8. Satya Pal Singh from Baghpat

9. Vijay Kumar Singh from Ghaziabad

10. Mahesh Sharma from Gautam Buddha Nagar

11. Satish Kumar Gautam from Aligarh

12. Hema Malini from Mathura

13. SP Singh Baghel from Agra

14. Raj Kumar Chaher from Fatehpur Sikri

15. Rajveer Singh from Etah

16. Sangh Mitra Maurya from Badaun

17. Dharmendra Kumar from Aonla

18. Santosh Kumar Gangwar from Bareilly

19. Arun Sagar from Shahjahanpur (SC)

20. Ajay Kumar Mishra from Kheri

21. Rajesh Verma from Sitapur

22. Jai Prakash Rawat from Hardoi (SC)

23. Ashok Rawat from Misrikh (SC)

24. Swami Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao

25. Kaushal Kishore from Mohanlalganj (SC)

26. Rajnath Singh from Lucknow

27. Smriti Irani from Amethi

28. Kunwar Bharatendra Singh from Bijnor

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Mar 2019, 10:02:52 PM