News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP to take on BJD on these four seats of Odisha in first phase

In 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, BJD Was One Of The Regional Satraps Who Stood His Ground Against The Narendra Modi Wave By Winning 20 Out 21 Lok Sabha Seats.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 09 Apr 2019, 10:01:34 PM
Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

New Delhi:

Stage is all set for elections in four Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha – Kalahandi, Koraput, Berhampur, and Nabarangpur – that will go to polls in the first phase of elections on April 11. The main battle in the state is among the Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). In 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, BJD was one of the regional satraps who stood his ground against the Narendra Modi wave by winning 20 out 21 Lok Sabha seats and the BJP was able to win a single seat of Sundargarh. Buoyed by its exceptional performance in the panchayat elections in Odisha in 2017, the BJP is trying its best to emerge as the alternative to Naveen Patnaik in Odisha. 

Phase 1: April 11 (91 Lok Sabha seats in 20 states/UTs) 

Odisha: 4 seats

2014 Results in these 4 seats: BJD: 4.

1. Kalahandi (2014 Result: BJD)

2019 candidates: Basanta Kumar Panda (BJP) Vs Bhakta Charan Das (Congress) Vs Pushpendra Singh Deo (BJD)

2. Koraput (2014 Result: BJD)

2019 candidates: Jayaram Pangi (BJP) Vs Saptagiri Ulka (Congress) Vs Kaushalya Hikaka (BJD)

3. Berhampur (2014 Result: BJD)

2019 candidates: Brughu Baxipatra (BJP) Vs V Chandrasekhar Naidu (Congress) Vs Chandrasekhar Sahu (BJD)

4. Nabarangpur (2014 Result: BJD)

2019 candidates: Balbhadra Majhi (BJP) Vs Pradeep Majhi (Congress) Vs Ramesh Chandra Majhi (BJD)

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Apr 2019, 09:59:49 PM