News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha elections 2019: CPI (M) releases first list of 45 candidates

The Seven-phased Lok Sabha Polls Will Be Held From April 11 To May 19 And The Counting Of Votes Will Be Taken Up On May 23.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 17 Mar 2019, 12:17:11 AM
Lok Sabha elections 2019: CPI (M) releases first list of 45 candidates (File Photo)

New Delhi:

With 2019 Lok Sabha elections just around the corner, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) on Saturday released its first list of seats, with 45 candidates being fielded for constituencies across 10 states and one Union territory.

"Communist Party of India (Marxist) releases the first list of seats for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019," the news agency ANI reported.

Of the total 45 candidates in the list, 32 have been named for the constituencies in Kerala and West Bengal. For the 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala, 16 candidates have been named in the first list of the CPI (M), released on Saturday.  Similarly, the party has announced names candidates for 16 of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal.

In addition, the party has announced candidates for one seat each in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab and UT of Lakshadweep. In Tamil Nadu, Tripura and Assam, two candidates have been named as of now.

On Friday, the CPI(M)-led Left Front announced its first list of candidates for 25 seats in West Bengal for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls scheduled to be held between April and May. The 25 seats include Raiganj and Murshidabad, currently held by the Communist Party of India (Marxist).

The seven-phased Lok Sabha polls will be held from April 11 to May 19 and the counting of votes will be taken up on May 23. West Bengal will go to the polls in all the seven phases.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Mar 2019, 12:15:22 AM