News Nation Logo


Samajwadi Party names Mulayam Singh as its star campaigner in second list

The Ruling BJP Will Launch Its Campaign For The Polls With “Vijay Sankalp Sabha' Events Across The Nation.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 25 Mar 2019, 12:15:07 AM
Representational Image

New Delhi:

With the political parties announcing their candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the poll fervour is intensifying with fast-paced developments.

The ruling BJP will launch its campaign for the polls with “Vijay Sankalp Sabha” events across the nation. The events will be held in 480 of the country’s 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, said party leaders.

Naqvi said BJP president Amit Shah and other senior leaders of the party will address Vijay Sankalp Sabha in different Lok Sabha constituencies of the country on March 24 and 26.

On the other hand, the Congress could announce its decision on the request of party’s Kerala unit demanding Rahul Gandhi to contest the upcoming elections from the Wayanad constituency.   

Nationalist Congress Party's Nana Panchbudhe to contest on Bhandara–Gondiya Lok Sabha constituency in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. NCP's Madhukar Yashwantrao Kukde is the sitting MP from the constituency.

I will neither contest upcoming Lok Sabha polls nor assembly bypolls to 18 constituencies in Tamil Nadu. I have lot of work to do. I will work towards the success of my candidates, says Makkal Needhi Maiam leader Kamal Hassan in Coimbatore.

Gorkha Janmukti Morcha and Gorkha National Liberation Front to support BJP in Darjeeling in upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Yesterday, Maharashtra CM assured me that my Rajya Sabha term will be continued and that he will try to get me a cabinet berth or independent charge at the Center. He also gave assurance that we'll be given seats in the assembly elections in October, says Ramdas Athawale, Republican Party of India.

I request him (SP Muddahanumegowda) to obey the coalition dharma. We have to follow high command's order that gave 8 seats to JDS. If HD Deve Gowda changes his mind,please give this seat to us, says Karnataka Dy CM and Congress leader G Parameshwara on Tumkur parliamentary constituency.

BJP leader from Mapusa Sudhir Kandolkar who resigned from the party today, joins Congress.

Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy on Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency: 1-2 leaders are unnecessarily creating disturbance for their personal gain. I think it will be resolved.

Congress releases list of star campaigners for first and second phase of Lok Sabha polls

BJP releases its list of 9 candidates from Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Meghalaya and Maharashtra- Santosh Pandey to contest from Chhattisgarh's Rajnandagaon, Sunil Soni to contest from Raipur, Raghunanadan Rao from Medak in Telangana. 

Samajwadi Party releases second list of star campaigners for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. List includes name of party patriarch Mulayam Singh.

Mayawati says that remove Modi. People ask her where you will contest from, she responds saying she won't fight polls: Amit Shah in Agra

Tariq Anwar to fight from Bihar's Katihar in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Mohd Javed to contest from Kishanganj seat.

Karti Chidambaram to fight from Sivaganga seat.

Congress releases tenth list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Opposition leader should announce the name of their prime ministerial candidate: Amit Shah.

Amit Shah addresses rally in Uttar Pradesh's Agra.

Congress will contest on 7 seats, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha on 4 seats, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha on 2 seats, talks are still ongoing with RJD, they have not yet agreed. Everyone will support RJD in Palamu, says Hemant Soren, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha on Lok Sabha seat sharing agreement in Jharkhand.

Shailesh Kumar to contest from Bhagalpur, and Jayprakash Narayan Yadav from Banka constituency, says Ram Chandra Purve, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

The party will announce its candidates soon on Kishanganj, Katihar and Purnia seats: Congress leader Harku Jha

I have not joined the Congress party. The photograph with Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is old. I am not going to campaign for any political party, Haryanavi singer Sapna Chaudhary.

Haryanavi singer & dancer Sapna Chaudhary says, "I have not joined the Congress party. The photograph with Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is old." 

Uma Bharti says it is for L K Advani to clear the "mist", after the veteran leader was not named as a party candidate for the Lok Sabha elections.

AAP will contest the Lok Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, and has fielded three candidates in each of the states. In Uttar Pradesh, the AAP has fielded Yogesh Dahiya from Saharanpur, Satish Chandra Sharma from Aligarh and Shweta Sharma from Gautam Budh Nagar.

According to sources, Shatrughan Sinha's wife Poonam Sinha may contest the upcoming Lok Sabha eelctions from Lucknow seat on Samajwadi Party ticket. 

BJP has destroyed institutions; if we are not able to ensure victory of liberal forces, country will be in deep trouble, says Kapil Sibal. 

Was chowkidar sleeping when terror struck Pathankot, Uri and Pulwama, asks Kapil Sibal. 

PM Modi forgot about 'chaiwalas', now remembering 'chowkidars', will talk about somebody else next time, says Kapil Sibal.

According to sources, Congress will release its ninth list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls today. 

HD Devegowda rubbishes reports of sitting Congress MP from Tumkur, Muddahanumegowda turning rebel. "Deputy CM of Karnataka, G. Parameshwara is sitting in Tumkur, calling all members and  trying to settle the issue. There's no problem between the Congress and the JD(S)," he said. 

Congress' CEC meeting is scheduled to be held at 11 am on Monday. According to sources, some big names are likely to be announced in the meeting. 

Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav's name does not figure in list of star campaigners for Lok Sabha polls.

Attacking the Yogi Adityanath government over the plight of farmers, Priyanka Gandhi said UP government does not take responsibility of the farmers' due payment and the CM serves as "a janitor only for the rich."

UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will kick-start BJP's poll campaign in the state from Saharanpur district. He will start his rally from Shakumbhari Devi temple today.

Samajwadi party chief Akhilesh Yadav to contest Lok Sabha polls from Azamgarh seat. SP leader Azam Khan will contest from Rampur. 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Mar 2019, 07:11:43 AM