News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha Polls: In round 3, zero voting in several seats across India till 9 am

On Congress President Rahul Gandhi’s Second Seat Wayanad, Estimated Polling Percentage Was Recorded At Only 0.9 Per Cent Till 9 Am.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 23 Apr 2019, 12:43:56 PM
Polling in the third phase of Lok Sabha election was underway on 116 seats in 15 states and Union Territories across the country. (ANI Photo)

New Delhi:

As polling in the third phase of Lok Sabha elections on 117 seats is underway, several constituencies across the country witnessed zero per cent voter turnout in the first two hours. Till 9 am, note a single vote was casted in Maharashtra’s Sangli and Satara Lok Sabha seats, while similar turnout was recorded in Gujarat’s Dahod and Banaskantha.

Durg in Chhattisgarh, Anantnag in Jammu and Kashmir, Cuttuck in Odisha, Vellore in Tamil Nadu and Union Territory Dadra and Nagar Haveli were among the other seats where zero per cent voter turnout was recorded in the first two hours. On Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s second seat Wayanad, estimated polling percentage was recorded at only 0.9 per cent till 9 am.

However, brisk voting was witnessed in Assam and West Bengal where people queued up in large numbers to cast their votes in the early hours. Estimated voter turnout in Bengal’s Maldaha North and Maldaha South stood at 16.11 per cent and 13.90 per cent, respectively.

In Assam, 12.36 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 9 am while in Bihar, it stood at 12.20 per cent. With zero per cent voting, Jammu and Kashmir was the lowest among all the states, followed by Maharashtra with 0.9 per cent voter turnout.

Polling in the third and largest phase of Lok Sabha election was underway on 117 seats, including first phase voting in Anantnag's, with BJP president Amit Shah, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and several Union ministers among prominent candidates in the fray.

Fifteen states and Union Territories, including Gujarat, Kerala, Bihar, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Jammu and Kashmir, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Goa and Tripura, were undergoing polls in the third phase on Tuesday.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Apr 2019, 10:14:37 AM