News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha elections 2019: PM Modi to hold poll rallies in Assam's Tezpur, Dibrugarh today

PM Modi Will Address Moran At 12:50 Pm On March 29 At Polo Club Ground. He Will Campaign In Gahpur At 2:50 Pm.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Srishty Choudhury | Updated on: 30 Mar 2019, 08:12:14 AM
Ealier in the week Amit Shah also addressed a rally in Assam, where he said voting Prime Minister Narendra Modi back to power would ensure an Assam free of illegal migrants. (File photo)

New Delhi:

After addressing multiple rallies in Odisha and Telangana on Friday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi head to Assam on Saturday. The prime minister will address two rallies in Assam in Gohpur under Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency and Moran under Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency. PM Modi will address Moran at 12:50 pm on March 29 at Polo Club Ground. He will campaign in Gahpur at 2:50 pm on the same day. 

The Bharatiya Janata Party is in full poll mode in Assam with the top brass holding public meetings in the state. Earlier this week, BJP chief Amit Shah also addressed a rally in Koliabor, from where BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has fielded Moni Madhav Mahanta as Lok Sabha candidate.

Amit Shah on Thursday said voting Prime Minister Narendra Modi back to power would ensure an Assam free of illegal migrants.

He also criticised the Congress for an undeclared poll pact with the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) “only to secure” the political future of former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi’s son.

Shah took a swipe at the Congress for a secret seat-sharing arrangement with AIUDF in order to further dynastic politics in Assam. “The alliance was done in the interest of Gogoiji’s son,” he said.

He was referring to Gaurav Gogoi, incumbent MP from Kaliabor and the former CM’s son, who is the principal Congress rival of Mahanta. 

BJP's chief ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal is contesting from Majuli assembly constituency.

Assam will vote in two phases on April 4 and 11. The BJP is contesting on 91 of 126 assembly constituencies of the state leaving 24 seats for Asom Gana Parishad and rest for Bodo People's Front and other smaller parties.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Mar 2019, 08:12:08 AM