News Nation Logo

In Uttar Pradesh, BJP gets 60 and counting, SP-BSP struggles to touch 15

The Party’s Most Remarkable Victory Came In Amethi Where Union Minister Smriti Irani Unseated Congress President Rahul Gandhi From His Party’s Bastion.

PTI | Updated on: 24 May 2019, 07:49:58 AM
A BJP supporter celebrates at the party office in Lucknow. (Photo: PTI)


The BJP and its ally Apna Dal (S) have won 62 of Uttar Pradesh’s 80 Lok Sabha seats, demolishing the challenge posed by the SP-BSP alliance, which has managed to get 14 seats between them. The counting of votes is still underway in the state, which sends the highest number of MPs in the Lower House, and the Election Commission has declared results of 77 seats as of 6.20 am on  Friday.

Of these, the BJP has won 60 seats and its NDA ally Apna Dal (S) two. The BJP is also leading on two seats.

The party’s most remarkable victory came in Amethi where Union minister Smriti Irani unseated Congress president Rahul Gandhi from his party’s bastion. 

The NDA tally was just 11 short of the 73, the number of seats the two parties won in the Hindi heartland state in 2014. This gap is set to come down to nine.

The opposition SP-BSP alliance bagged 14 seats, with nine going to Mayawati’s BSP.

The party is also leading in one seat.

The Congress just managed to open its account in the state as UPA chairperson and Congress leader Sonia Gandhi won the Rae Bareli seat. 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 May 2019, 07:49:58 AM