News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha Elections: Shatrughan Sinha to contest from Bihar's Patna Sahib on Congress ticket

He Joined The Congress Earlier Today In The Presence Of KC Venugopal And Randeep Surjewala.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 06 Apr 2019, 04:33:44 PM
Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Shatrughan Sinha to contest from Bihar's Patna Sahib on Congress ticket

New Delhi:

Actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Bihar's Patna Sahib constituency on Congress ticket. He joined the Congress earlier today in the presence of KC Venugopal and Randeep Surjewala.

Sinha represents Bihar's Patna Sahib seat in the Lok Sabha. He will take on the BJP's Ravi Shankar Prasad in the constituency. 

Shifting loyalty on the foundation day of the BJP, Sinha he quit the party as it has turned into a "one-man show and two-men army", apparently referring to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah. 

Venugopal welcomed Sinha into the party fold and termed him the "best politician who was earlier with the wrong party".

On March 28, Sinha had met Congress president Rahul Gandhi and had described himself a great admirer of Nehru-Gandhi family. 

He tweeted that he was "painfully, on the way out of BJP".

"Painfully....on the way out of BJP....But hopefully in the best direction under the dynamic leadership of my dear friend Lalu Yadav and the desirable, most talked about leader from the Nehru Gandhi family... the true family of nation builders...." he tweeted.

Days ago, Shatrughan, a vocal critic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, was denied party ticket from Patna Sahib parliamentary constituency. 

Associated with the BJP since the 1990s, Sinha fell out with the party's leadership in the recent past. While criticising Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP government's policies, Shatrughan continued his proximity with the RJD-led grand alliance in the state.

Sinha had served as a minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government and is serving his second consecutive term as MP from Patna Sahib.



For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 06 Apr 2019, 03:01:51 PM