News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Single phase polling in Uttarakhand to seal fate of these candidates

Tehri, Pauri Garhwal, Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar, Almora, And Haridwar Will Go To The Polls In The First Phase Of Lok Sabha Elections.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 09 Apr 2019, 09:44:07 PM
Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat and Congress leader Harish Rawat

New Delhi:

As the state of Uttarakhand is all set to cast their votes on all five Lok Sabha seats on April 11, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is campaigning in the name of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the campaigns of the Congress candidates are focussed on targeting the Modi government. Interesting, one would notice that in the state of Uttarakhand the election is between PM Modi and the Congress candidates in Tehri, Pauri Garhwal, Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar, Almora, and Haridwar Lok Sabha seats. The saffron party, which had won 57 of the 70 seats in the state Assembly polls in 2017, leaving Congress with only 11 seats, has an advantage over the grand old party which had won all five Uttarakhand Lok Sabha seats in 2009 but had faced a debacle in 2014 losing them all to the BJP.

2014 Results in these 5 seats: BJP: 5.

1. Tehri Garhwal (2014 Result: BJP) 

2019 candidates: Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah (BJP) Vs Pritam Singh (Congress)        

2. Almora (2014 Result: BJP)

2019 candidates: Ajay Tamta (BJP) Vs Pradeep Tamta (Congress)

3. Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar (2014 Result: BJP)

2019 candidates: Ajay Bhatt (BJP) Vs Harish Rawat (Congress)

4. Haridwar (2014 Result: BJP)

2019 candidates: Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank (BJP) Vs Ambarish Kumar (Congress)

5. Garhwal (2014 Result: BJP)

2019 candidates: Tirath Singh Rawat (BJP) Vs Manish Khanduri (Congress)

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Apr 2019, 09:43:54 PM