News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Elections: Jharkhand witnesses 64.46 per cent polling in Phase 6

Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das And His Family Members Cast Their Votes In Jamshedpur Constituency.

PTI | Updated on: 12 May 2019, 09:25:25 PM
Jharkhand Lok Sabha elections (Photo Source: PTI)

Jharkhand Lok Sabha elections (Photo Source: PTI)


An estimated 64.46 per cent of the over 66.85 lakh electorate exercised their franchise till 4 pm in four Lok Sabha constituencies of Jharkhand on Sunday, an election official said. No untoward incident was reported from any part of the state, he said.

The polling, which ended at 4 pm, was held in Singhbhum (ST), Jamshedpur, Dhanbad and Giridih parliamentary seats. The voter turnout in Giridih was 65.93 per cent followed by Dhanbad 59.60 per cent, Jamshedpur 66.44 per cent and Singhbhum 67.79 per cent, according to an Election Commission release.

Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das and his family members cast their votes in Jamshedpur constituency. A 106-year-old woman, Pupalata Pal, voted at a booth in Rajkiya Kanya Uchh Vidyala in Chaibasa under Singhbhum constituency. Pal has been voting in Chaibasa since the first general elections, an official release said.

Jharkhand Water Resources Minister and Ajsu party leader Chandraprakash Choudhary, three sitting BJP MPs - P N Singh from Dhanbad, B B Mahato from Jamshedpur and Laxman Gilua from Singhbhum constituencies, were among the 67 candidates.

The JMM and the Congress are part of the "Mahagathbandhan" (grand alliance) in Jharkhand. The last phase polling in Jharkhand will be held on May 19. The counting of votes for seven-phase Lok Sabha elections will be taken up on May 23.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 12 May 2019, 09:25:25 PM