News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019: Gautam Gambhir, Sheila Dikshit and Manoj Tiwari, prominent faces in Delhi

Will The Exit Poll Forecasts Become Reality For BJP In Delhi? We Will Know It Shortly

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 22 May 2019, 11:50:10 PM
Sheila Dikshit, Manoj Tiwari and Gautam Gambhir

Sheila Dikshit, Manoj Tiwari and Gautam Gambhir

New Delhi:

Delhi voted on May 12 in the Lok Sabha Elections. With seven seats up for grabs, it is a triangular fight between the BJP, the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party. Delhi recorded a turnout of 60.52 percent in the polls on May 12, five percentage points down from 2014. According to official data, 60.82 per cent male voters and 60.15 per cent female voters exercised their right this time. The East Delhi constituency, which is seeing a triangular contest between BJP's Gautam Gambhir, Congress's Arvinder Singh Lovely and AAP's Atishi Marlena, saw 61.80 per cent women exercising their right to vote as compared to 61.50 per cent of male voters.

The New Delhi constituency, which has many VVIP voters, recorded the lowest voter turnout among all seven constituencies in Delhi at 56.86 per cent, but saw a better turnout of women than men. According to the data, 57.21 per cent of women voters cast their votes while 56.58 per cent men exercised their franchise in the seat. South Delhi had the second lowest turnout of voters.

As the nation gears up for the D-Day, here are key battles of the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections in Delhi:

1. New Delhi (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Meenakshi Lekhi, Margin: 1,62,708)

2019 candidates: Meenakshi Lekhi (BJP) Vs Ajay Maken (Congress) Vs Brijesh Goyal (AAP)

2. South Delhi (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Ramesh Bidhuri, Margin: 1,07,000)

2019 candidates: Vijender Singh (Congress) Vs Ramesh Bidhuri (BJP) Vs Raghav Chadha (AAP)

3. East Delhi (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Maheish Girri, Margin: 1,90,463)

2019 candidates: Gautam Gambhir (BJP) Vs Arvinder Singh Lovely (Congress) Vs Atishi Marlena (AAP)

4. Chandni Chowk (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Harsh Vardhan, Margin: 1,36,320)

2019 candidates: Harsh Vardhan (BJP) Vs Jai Prakash Agarwal (Congress) Vs Pankaj Gupta (AAP)

5. North East Delhi (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Manoj Tiwari, Margin: 1,44,084)

2019 candidates: Sheila Dikshit (Congress) Vs Dilip Pandey (AAP) Vs Manoj Tiwari (BJP)

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 May 2019, 11:50:10 PM