News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: PM Modi, Amit Shah meet LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi On Thursday Led His Bharatiya Janata Party To A Super-sized Victory For A Second Term In Office.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Srishty Choudhury | Updated on: 24 May 2019, 12:13:32 PM
Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019: PM Modi, Amit Shah meet LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah visited veteran BJP leaders LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi to seek their blessings on Friday after registering a thumping victory in the Lok Sabha elections. After meeting Advani, PM Modi tweeted, "Called on respected Advani ji. The BJP’s successes today are possible because greats like him spent decades building the party and providing a fresh ideological narrative to the people."

A visibly elated Joshi greeted PM Modi with a hug. After meeting him, PM Modi tweeted, "Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi is a scholar and intellectual par excellence. His contribution towards improving Indian education is remarkable. He has always worked to strengthen the BJP and mentor several Karyakartas, including me. Met him this morning and sought his blessings."

Murli Manohar Joshi greeted PM Narendra Modi with a hug. (Photo: Twitter/Narendra Modi)

Both Advani and Modi greeted PM Modi on Thursday and also priased party chief Amit Shah and the workers for their hardwork.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday led his Bharatiya Janata Party to a super-sized victory for a second term in office, as his message of nationalism, security, Hindu pride and a New India was wholeheartedly embraced by voters across large swathes of the country. With the elections establishing the 68-year-old Modi as the most popular leader in decades, the partial vote count released by the Election Commission showed that BJP will not only surpass its 2014 performance but also cross 300-seats mark in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

Such was the force of the BJP wave that even Congress President Rahul Gandhi lost in his bastion of Amethi to Smriti Irani, but in consolation prize won the Wayanad seat in Kerala. Former prime minister and JD(S) chief HD Deve Gowda also bit the dust when he lost the Tumkur seat in Karnataka where the BJP bagged 25 of the 28 seats. After Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi, Modi is the third prime minister of the country and the first non-Congress one—who has been able to retain power for a second term with full majority in Lok Sabha.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 were held in seven phases, starting April 11. A total of 91 constituencies went to the polls in the first phase on April 11, followed by 97 constituencies in the second phase on April 18. The third phase was held on April 23 and fourth on April 29, fifth on May 6, sixth on May 12 and seventh phase on May 19. 115 constituencies went to the polls in the third phase, 71 in the fourth phase, 51 in the fifth phase, 59 in the sixth phase and 59 in the seventh phase.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 May 2019, 12:13:32 PM