News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019: What happened in Haryana - A look at poll mandate from 1999 to 2014

Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019: Some Of The Prominent Names From Haryana Are BJP's Rao Inderjit Singh From Gurgaon, Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Former Chief Minister Of Haryana From Sonipat, And BJP's Krishan Pal Gurjar From Faridabad

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 22 May 2019, 09:11:16 PM
Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019: The voting for the state of Haryana was conducted in the sixth phase of polls

New Delhi:

The Haryana Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will be out on Thursday. The voting for Haryana was conducted in the sixth phase of polls along with 14 seats of Uttar Pradesh, eight seats of West Bengal, eight seats of Bihar, eights seats of Madhya Pradesh, four seats of Jharkhand and all seven seats of nation’s capital. 

Some of the prominent names from Haryana are BJP's Rao Inderjit Singh from Gurgaon, Bhupinder Singh Hooda, former Chief Minister of Haryana from Sonipat, and BJP's Krishan Pal Gurjar from Faridabad. Dushyant Chautala, from Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), is seeking second Lok Sabha term in Hisar. He is battling in a triangular fight with Brijendra Singh, son of Union minister Birender Singh and Bhavya, grandson of late three-time Chief Minister Bhajan Lal. 

Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019: What happened in Haryana - A look at poll mandate from 1999 to 2014

In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, the BJP decimated the Congress and the INLD and won 7 seats in Haryana. The state has 10 parliamentary seats. The Congress was able to win only a single seat while the INLD grabbed the remaining two seats. The 2014 Lok Sabha polls in Haryana were held on April 10. The BJP received 39,93,527 votes with a vote share of 34.84 per cent, while the Congress was able to garner 26,34,905 votes in the state with a vote share of 22.99 per cent. The INLD got 27,99,899 votes with a vote share of 24.43 per cent. The HJC, BJP's ally, contested on 2 seats as per the seat-sharing agreement and got 7,03,698 votes (6.14 per cent). However, the party drew a blank in the elections and even its chief Kuldeep Bishnoi lost his seat. According to our analysis, the BJP was ahead in 52 Assembly segments during the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. The Congress was leading on 15 and the INLD on 16. In 2009 Lok Sabha Elections, the Congress won 9 seats in the state.   

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) also received 4.60 per cent of votes. The BJP won Ambala, Karnal, Sonipat, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, Kurukshetra, Gurgaon and Faridabad constituencies. The Congress retained its stronghold in Rohtak, while the INLD won Sirsa and Hissar. Some of the prominent winners in 2014 were Rao Inderjit Singh (BJP-Gurgaon), Krishan Pal Gurjar (BJP-Faridabad), Ashwini Kumar Chopra (BJP-Karnal), Deepender Singh Hooda (Congress-Rohtak) and Dushyant Chautala (INLD-Hissar). 

Kuldeep Bishnoi (HJC), Naveen Jindal (Congress), Ashok Tanwar (Congress), Avtar Singh Bhadana (Congress), Shruti Choudhry (Congress), Om Prakash Dhankar (BJP), RK Anand (INLD), Zakir Hussain (INLD), Yogendra Yadav (AAP), Naveen Jaihind (AAP) and Arvind Kumar Sharma (Congress) lost the elections. 

The general election, 2009 in Haryana, occurred for 10 seats in the state. Nine of the seats were bagged by the Indian National Congress and Haryana Janhit Congress won one seat. 

Haryana 2004 Lok Sabha Polls: Congress won nine seats while the BJP won one seat.

Haryana 1999 Lok Sabha Polls: BJP had won 5 seats and Indian National Lok Dal bagged 5 seats.

What was the result of Haryana Assembly Elections in 2014?

Riding on 'Modi wave', the BJP for the first time formed its government in Haryana and Manohar Lal Khattar took over as the chief minister. The Congress lost the elections after the two consecutive terms and the INLD emerged as the main opposition party in the 2014 Haryana Assembly Elections. The saffron party received 41,25,285 votes with a vote share of 33.20 per cent. The party won 47 seats in the 90-member strong Assembly and almost repeated its Lok Sabha poll performance. The Congress got 25,57,940 votes with a vote share of 20.58 per cent and won 15 seats. In 2009 Assembly polls, the Congress became the single largest party with 40 seats in the state and formed the government again with the help of 7 Independents. The INLD won 31 seats whereas the BJP was a marginal player with only 4 seats. The HJC contested the elections for the first time and won 6 seats.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 May 2019, 09:11:16 PM