News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Elections Results: Counting @ 1 pm Latest Updates: NCP leads in lone Lakshadweep seat

In The Last Lok Sabha Elections, The Seat Was Won By Mohammed Faizal P.p. Of The NCP By A Margin Of 1535 Votes. Mohammed Faizal P.p. Defeated INC Candidate Hamdullah Sayeed.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 02:45:19 PM
The counting is still underway

New Delhi:

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is leading in the lone seat of Lakshadweep. Polling in Lakshadweep Lok Sabha constituency, where six candidates were in the fray held on April 11. There were 49 polling booths in the Island territory comprising 27 islands, of which only 10 were inhabited. The number of electorate in the country's smallest constituency is 54,266, with 26,791 women. While Anthroth Island has the highest number of voters (10,212), there are only 231 voters in Bithra island.

Earlier, a close fight was expected between sitting NCP MP P P Mohammed Faisal and former Congress MP Hamdullah Sayeed, son of former Union minister late P M Sayeed. The CPI (M), CPI, BJP and JD(U) were among the parties which have fielded their candidates in the elections.

In the last Lok Sabha elections, the seat was won by Mohammed Faizal P.p. of the NCP by a margin of 1535 votes. Mohammed Faizal P.p. defeated INC candidate Hamdullah Sayeed.

Lakshadweep had registered 86.61 % voting in 2014 general elections. With a vote share of 50.11 %, Nationalist Congress Party had topped the results tally with 1 seats, followed by Communist Party of India (0 seats) and Communist Party of India (Marxist) (0 seats).

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 02:45:19 PM