News Nation Logo

After UP, SP-BSP alliance announces seat-sharing formula for Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand

Uttar Pradesh Accounts For 80 Lok Sabha Seats. Uttarakhand Has Traditionally Been A BJP Bastion, With The Saffron Party Winning All Five Seats In The 2014 General Elections.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 13 Mar 2019, 02:50:55 PM
Of the total 29 seats of MP, the SP will contest only on three seats, while the rest will be contested by the BSP.

New Delhi:

After Uttar Pradesh, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) combination have extended their ‘Mahagathbandhan’ (grand alliance) in Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand for the Lok Sabha Election 2019.  Of the total 29 seats of Madhya Pradesh, the SP will contest only on three seats -- Balaghat, Tikamgarh, Khujarao -- while the rest (26) will be contested by the BSP.

Similarly, in Uttarakhand, the Akhilesh Yadav-led SP will contest only on one seat -- Garwahal (Pauri), while the rest four seats would be contested by the BSP. In Uttar Pradesh, the BSP, led by Mayawati, is contesting on 38 seats and the SP on 37 seats, while five seats are left for other parties, including two- Amethi and Raebareli -- for the Congress. While announcing the alliance last month, both parties had said they will contest 38 seats each.

Uttar Pradesh accounts for 80 Lok Sabha seats. Uttarakhand has traditionally been a BJP bastion, with the saffron party winning all five seats in the 2014 general elections.

The voter base in Madhya Pradesh is traditionally inclined to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had won 27 seats out of 29 in the previous Lok Sabha elections. The remaining were won by the Congress party – Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia. 

Addressing party workers in Lucknow, Mulayam Singh Yadav had earlier expressed concerns over the alliance and the seat allocation. “On what basis have they divided seats? Our party was very strong. We have formed the government on our own. Have been defence minister in the past as well. We are not doing politics, only placing the truth in the open," the party patriarch said.

He said that he had the power to “change" any ticket allocation which had been made by his son, party chief Akhilesh Yadav.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Feb 2019, 04:19:14 PM