News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha polls: 21 candidates file nominations for two phases in Maharashtra

Independent Suhas Phunde And Bhimrao Borkar Have Filed Their Papers For Bhandara-Gondiya Seat, Which Goes To Polls In The First Phase.

PTI | Updated on: 20 Mar 2019, 08:14:43 PM
Lok Sabha polls: 21 candidates file nominations for two phases in Maharashtra (File Photo)


Twenty-one candidates, either independents or belonging to local outfits, have so far filed their nominations for two phases of polling in 17 out of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra. While seven Lok Sabha constituencies go to polls on April 11, voting in 10 other segments will take place on April 18. The process of filing of nominations has already begun in these constituencies.

As per the electoral office in Mumbai, for the first phase elections, nine nominations were received for seven constituencies- one each in Wardha, Nagpur, Chandrapur, four in Yavatmal-Washim and two in Bhandara-Gondiya.

Independent Suhas Phunde and Bhimrao Borkar have filed their papers for Bhandara-Gondiya seat, which goes to polls in the first phase. In Nagpur, independent candidate Abdul Karim Abdul Gaffar Patel has filed the nomination, while independent Sunil Natrajan Nair and Ramesh Pawar of Bharatiya Bahujan Agadhi Janata Dal (S) have filed papers from Yavatmal-Washim, a statement from the electoral office said.

Notification for the first phase was issued on Monday. For the second phase (April 18) polls, 12 candidates have filed nominations. Pathan Jafar Ali Khan (Indian Democratic Movement) has filed his nomination from Nanded and Venkatesh Khatakdond (Hindustan Janata Party) has filed his papers from Solapur.

Apart from Khan, there are two more candidates in Nanded as of now. One, four and two candidates have filed papers in Akola, Amravati and Parbhani respectively. In Amravati, Yuva Swabhiman Party’s Navneet Kaur Rana and three independents filed their nominations on Wednesday.

Navneet Rana had contested as an NCP candidate in 2014, but was defeated by Shiv Sena’s Anandrao Adsul. Yuva Swabhiman Paksha is an outfit floated by her husband and Badnera MLA Ravi Rana.

Shailendra Kasture, Dadarao Dhoke and Ambadas Wankhade are the independent candidates, who filed their nominations. The notification for the second phase polls was issued on Tuesday.

The last two phases of general elections in the state will be held on April 23 and 29. Total 14 Lok Sabha seats will go to polls on April 23, while voting for 17 constituencies will be held in the last phase. The counting of votes will be taken up on May 23.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 Mar 2019, 08:05:09 PM