News Nation Logo


Lok Sabha polls: Chandra Bose finds place in BJP’s first list of 28 candidates in West Bengal

Union Minister Babul Supriyo Will Contest From Asansol Against Trinamool Congress’ Moon Moon Sen.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 21 Mar 2019, 10:38:53 PM
BJP first list of candidates in Bengal

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced 28 names out of 42 for West Bengal. The party which is eyeing to get maximum seats in the state has fielded some of the best candidates. The party has ambitious goals in Bengal, with Amit Shah setting a target of over 20 seats for the party to win from the state. Currently BJP has two incumbent MPs in West Bengal which sends 42 MPs to the lower house of the Parliament.

According to the list released by the party, Union Minister Babul Supriyo will contest from Asansol against Trinamool Congress’ Moon Moon Sen. On the other hand, the BJP is yet to announce candidate for its another winning seat Darjeeling. However, it has to be remembered that last time GJM supported BJP in Darjeeling. This time around GJM has sided with TMC, and hence the battle has become much tougher for the saffron outfit.

The grandnephew of Subhash Chandra Bose, Chandra Kumar Bose is set to fight the South Kolkata seat, and is the new face of BJP in the the Mamata Banerjee-led state.

Here is the list:

1. Coochbehar: Nisith Pramanik 

2. Alipurduars (ST): John Barla 

3. Jalpaiguri (SC): Dr Jayanta Ray 

4. Raiganj: Deboshree Chaudhary Balurghat: Dr Sukanta Majumdar 

5. Maldaha Uttar: Khagen Murmu 

6. Maldaha Dakshin: Sreerupa Mitra Choudhury 

7. Krishnanagar: Kalyan Chowbey 

8. Barrackpur: Arjun Singh 

9. Dum Dum: Samik Bhattacharya 

10. Barasat: Dr Mrinal Kanthi Debnath 

11. Basirhat: Shri Sayantan Basu 

12. Jaynagar(SC): Dr Ashok Kandari 

13. Mathurapur (SC): Shyamaprasad Halder 

14. Jadavpur: Prof. Anupam Hazra

15. Kolkata Dakshin: Chandra Kumar Bose 

16. Kolkata Uttar: Rahul Sinha 

17. Serampore: Debajit Sarkar 

18. Hooghly: Locket chaterjee 

19. Arambagh (SC): Tapan Roy 

20. Tamluk: Siddharth Naskar 

21. Ghatal: Bharati Ghosh 

22. Jhargram(ST): Dr Kunar Hembram 

23. Medinipur: Dilip Ghosh 

24. Bishnupur(SC): Soumitra Kha 

25. Bardhaman Purba(SC): Paresh Chandra Das 

26. Asansol: Babul Supriyo 

27. Birbhum: Dudh Kumar Mondal 

28: Balurghar- Dr. Sukanta Majumdar

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Mar 2019, 10:38:39 PM