News Nation Logo

Lok Sabha Results 2019: BJP sweeps in Karnataka, leaves ruling coalition in tizzy

87-year Old Gowda Was Trailing By A Margin Of 12,387 Votes In Tumkur Against BJP's G S Basavaraj.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 09:58:30 PM
Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

New Delhi:

The BJP appeared headed for a spectacular win in Karnataka as it bagged 11 seats and was leading in 14 others, leaving the ruling Congress-JD(S) alliance in a tizzy over the stability of its one-year old government. Reflecting the coalition's plight, Congress leader in the Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge in Gulbarga and former Prime Minister and JDS supremo H D Deve Gowda in Tumkur were trailing their BJP rivals, Election Commission trends showed earlier, later they lost.

With the BJP dealing a hammer blow, Congress and JD(S) managed to win only one seat each, indicating that neither arithmetic nor chemistry worked for the two, which apparently failed to reconcile with each other at the ground level.

Independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh, supported by the BJP, was leading by 1,26,436 votes in Mandya in a fiercely fought battle against Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy's son Nikhil. 87-year old Gowda was trailing by a margin of 12,387 votes in Tumkur against BJP's G S Basavaraj.

Gowda's another grandson Prajwal Revanna,son of minister H D Revanna defeated A Manju of the BJP by 1,41,324 votes in Hassan. Gowda had shifted to Tumkur from his traditional bastion Hassan to make way for his grandson.

Kharge, a veteran Congressman, who has never tasted electoral defeat, was trailing by 95,168 votes against BJP's Umesh Jadhav, who resigned as MLA and joined the saffron party ahead of the elections. Senior Congress leader Veerappa Moily faced defeat against BJP candidate B N Bache Gowda in Chikkaballapur by 1,82,110 votes.

Seven time MP from Kolar K H Muniyappa was trailing against BJP candidate by a margin of 2,09,707 votes. Union minister D V Sadananda Gowda (Bangalore North) was leading against his Congress rival by a huge margin, his colleagues Ramesh Jigajinagi (Bijapur) and Anant Kumar Hegde (Uttara Kannada) won their respective seats by a margin of 2,58,038 and 4,79,649 votes, respectively.

Here are the status of the candidates:

From Gulbarga  seat, BJP’s DR. Umesh G Jadhav beats Congress’s Mallikarjun Kharge by 95452

BJP candidate and BS Yeddyurappa's son BY Raghavendra defeats JDS leader Madhu Bangarappa in Karnataka's Shimoga by 2,23,360 votes. 
BJP's Pralhad Joshi defeats Congress candidate Vinay Kulkarni in Karnataka's Dharwad by 2,05,072 votes.

BJP's Nalin Kumar Kateel defeats Congress candidate Mithun Rai in Karnataka's Dakshina Kannada by 2,74,621 votes.

BJP leader and Union Minister Anant Kumar Hegde defeats JDS candidate Anand Asnotikar in Karnataka's Uttara Kannada by 4,79,649 votes.

BJP's Shivkumar Chanabasappa Udasi defeats Congress candidate DR Patil in Karnataka's Haveri by 1,40,882 votes.

BJP's BN Bache Gowda defeats Congress leader and former Union minister Veerappa Moily in Karnataka's Chikkballapur by 1,82,110 votes.

BJP's Ramesh Jigajinagi defeats JD(S) candidate Sunitha Devanand Chavan in Karnataka's Bijapur by 2,58,038 votes.

BJP's Bhagwanth Khubha defeats Congress candidate Eshwar B. Khandre in Karnataka's Bidar by 1,16,834 votes.

BJP's Y. Devendrappa defeats Congress candidate VS Ugrappa in Karnataka's Bellary by 55,707 votes.

BJP’s Raja Amareshwara Naik beats Congress’s B. V Naik with 117716 votes.
BJP’s G. S. Basavaraj defeats Janata Dal (Secular) H.D. Devegowda by 13339 votes.  
BJP’s Shobha Karandlaje wins from Udupi Chikmagalur, defeats JDS Pramod Madhwaraj by 349599
BJP’s Gaddigoudar Parvatagouda Chandanagouda defeats Congress’s Veena Kashappanavar by 168187 from Bagalkot.
BJP’s young leader Tejasvi Surya beats Congress’s B.K.HARIPRASAD by 331192
BJP's G SBasavaraj defeats JD(S) patriarch and former prime minister HD Deve Gowda in Karnataka's Tumkur by 13,339 votes.
BJP leader D.V. Sadananda defeats Congress’s Krishna Byregowda by 147518 votes.
BJP’s P. C. Mohan defeats Congress leader Rizwan Arshad by 70968 votes

Janata Dal (Secular) Prajwal Revanna wins from Hassan with 141324 votes.

Bangalore Rural BJP’s D.K. Suresh defeats Congress Ashwathnarayangowda by 206870

BJP’s Angadi Suresh Channabasappa beats Congress’s Dr.Sadhunavar by 391022 from Belgaum.

BJP’s Bhagwanth Khuba defeats Congress’s Eshwar b. Khandre by 116834

BJP’s Jigajinagi Ramesh Chandappa wins from Bijapur

BJP’s V. Srinivas Prasad wins from Chamarajanagar                  

BJP’s B.N.Bache Gowda wins from Chikkballapur

Bharatiya Janata Party’s Karadi Sanganna Amarappa wins from Koppal

Independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh wins from Mandya        

BJP’s Annasaheb Shankar Jolle wins from Chikkodi

BJP’s A Narayanaswamy wins from Chitradurga

BJP’s G M Siddeshwar wins from Davanagere   

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 09:58:30 PM