News Nation Logo

Meghalaya Lok Sabha Elections: Congress wins Shillong, Mukul Sangma trails in Tura

The BJP – Which Contested Both The Lok Sabha Seats – Failed To Make An Impact In The North-eastern State.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 09:47:10 PM
Mukul Sangma

Mukul Sangma

New Delhi:

Sitting Congress MP Vincent H Pala defeated his nearest Jemino Mawthoh of the United Democratic Party by a margin of 1,52,433 votes in the Shillong Lok Sabha seat, as per Election Commission.

Agatha Sangma of the National People's Party was leading against her nearest rival Mukul Sangma of the Congress by 63,857 votes in the Tura Lok Sabha seat.

The BJP – which contested both the Lok Sabha seats – failed to make an impact in the north-eastern state.

The saffron party had fielded its state unit vice president Rikman G Momin as its candidate for Tura parliamentary constituency. It had announced three-time MLA Sanbor Shullai as its nominee from Shillong Lok Sabha seat.

Elections to the two parliamentary seats in Meghalaya and a by-poll to Selsella assembly constituency were held on April 11.

The by-election was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Clement Marak last year. His wife June Eliana R Marak is likely to file her nomination from the seat on a Congress ticket Monday.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 09:47:10 PM