News Nation Logo

‘India wins yet again, Vijayi Bharat’: Modi tweets as BJP heads to thumping victory in Lok Sabha Elections

The Modi Wave Not Only Swept Through The Hindi Heartland And Gujarat, As Was Expected, But Also Rippled Through West Bengal, Odisha, Maharashtra And Karnataka.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 03:06:57 PM
‘India wins yet again, Vijayi Bharat’: Narendra Modi tweets as BJP heads to thumping victory in Lok Sabha Elections

‘India wins yet again, Vijayi Bharat’: Narendra Modi tweets as BJP heads to thumping victory in Lok Sabha Elections

New Delhi:

Lok Sabha Elections results 2019: As BJP heads to massive victory in the Lok Sabha Elections with latest trends putting the NDA tally at 350 seats, Narendra Modi took to Twitter and expressed his happiness over the mega mandate. “Together we grow. Together we prosper. Together we will build a strong and inclusive India. India wins yet again! #VijayiBharat,” Modi said in a tweet, which was retweeted for record 22K times in just 10 minutes! The tweet garnered 54K ‘Likes’. The incumbent Modi government defied conventional norm with stellar leads in Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Rajasthan and Gujarat.


With the election trends suggesting the NDA making huge gains, the BJP leaders Thursday said it unambiguously indicated that the "grammar of politics is under transformation" and Prime Minister Narendra Modi's work has defeated the "negative" politics of opposition. BJP's vice president Vinay Sahasrabudhe said: "Once again people have reposed their confidence in BJP and Modi in a big way. The trends indicate unambiguously that grammar of politics is under transformation"Party's spokesperson Shahnawaz Hussain described the party's excellent performance as "the victory of the developmental work done by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and defeat of negative politics."

He further said those who thought that by forming coalition based on caste politics they can defeat development, "this is the new era...Modi era of development politics. Whoever will bring development, will win." The BJP, on its own, was leading in 291 seats much as against its main rival Congress which was ahead in 52 seats in the 543 seat Lok Sabha.

The Modi wave not only swept through the Hindi heartland and Gujarat, as was expected, but also rippled through West Bengal, Odisha, Maharashtra and Karnataka. Only Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana appeared untouched. In Odisha, the BJP was ahead in nine of the 21 seats and Biju Janata Dal was ahead in 11. In 2014, the BJD had won 20 seats and BJP took one. In Telangana, the Telangana Rashtra Samiti was leading in nine seats, the BJP in four and Congress in three. BJP ally, Janata Dal (United) was ahead in 16 seats.

As votes for the seven-phase Parliamentary polls were counted on Thursday, the Trinamool Congress Party was leading in 25 of 42 seats of West Bengal while BJP was ahead in 15, up from two it held in 2014. The Left was wiped out in the state, once its citadel.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 03:06:57 PM