News Nation Logo


NCP announces second list of 5 candidates, Sharad Pawar's grandson to contest from Maval

Parth Is The Son Of Former Deputy Chief Minister Of Maharashtra Ajit Pawar, The Nephew Of Three-time Chief Minister Sharad Pawar.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 15 Mar 2019, 04:48:39 PM
Parth Ajit Pawar with father Ajit Pawar (File Photo)

New Delhi:

With the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections just one month to go, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Friday released its second list of 5 candidates, with party chief Sharad Pawar's grandson Parth Ajit Pawar being fielded from the parliamentary constituency of Maval in Pune. Parth is the son of former Maharashtra deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar - the nephew of three-time chief minister Sharad Pawar. After the second list, the total number of declared candidates for the NCP has reached to 17.

The development came days after party chief Sharad Pawar on Monday announced his decison to not contest the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, adding that he is dropping out for his nephew Ajit Pawar's 28-year-old son Parth, who would contest from Maval.

Apart from Pawar, the other candidates who has found place in the second list of the NCP, include Dhanaj Haribhau Mahale (Dindori), Sameer Bhujbal (Nashik), Amol Kolhe (Shirur) and Bajrang Sonavane (Beed).

"Nationalist Congress Party releases list of 5 candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Parth Ajit Pawar to contest from parliamentary constituency of Maval in Pune district," the news agency ANI reported.

Earlier on Thursday, the NCP declared its first list of 12 candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls and fielded senior party leader and Sharad Pawar's daughter Supriya Sule from its stronghold of Baramati. The party has also given ticket to Mohammad PP Faizal from Lakshadweep.

Besides, it has decided to field sitting MPs Udayanraje Bhosale and Dhananjay Mahadik from Satara and Kolhapur, respectively. The other candidates include Anand Paranjpe (Thane) and Sanjay Dina Patil (Mumbai Northeast).

The name of Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghtana leader Raju Shetti, whose party left the NDA and joined the UPA, also figures in the NCP's list.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Mar 2019, 03:58:18 PM