News Nation Logo


Nishad Party breaks alliance with SP-BSP-RLD 'mahagathbandhan', likely to join hands with BJP

In What Could Be Seen As A Possible Opportunity For A Tie-up With Other Political Biggies, Nishad Also Stated That They Can Look For Other Options As Well.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 29 Mar 2019, 09:53:28 PM
Nishad Party breaks alliance with SP-BSP-RLD 'mahagathbandhan' in UP (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Miffed over delay in seat sharing arrangement, the Nishad Party, which had on Tuesday joined the SP-BSP-RLD 'mahagathbandhan' in Uttar Pradesh, has decided to pull out of the coalition. At a joint press conference in Lucknow, Samajwadi Party (SP) president Akhilesh Yadav had on March 26 announced that Nishad Party and Janwadi Party (Socialist) will be part of the mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance) for the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 along with the Rashtriya Samanta Dal in Uttar Pradesh.

Speaking to news agency ANI, Nishad Party chief Sanjay Nishad said, "Akhilesh Yadav had said he will make announcement on seats for our party. But they did not put our name on poster/letter or anything. My party workers, authorities, core committee were upset".

"So the Nishad party has taken a decision today that we are not with the 'gathbandhan', we are free, can fight elections independently," he added.

In what could be seen as a possible opportunity for a tie-up with other political biggies, Nishad also stated that they can look for other options as well.

Amid speculations of the party joining the ruling BJP, Nishad has also met Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath along with BJP state president Mahendra Nath Pandey and Cabinet Minister Siddhartha Nath Singh at party headquarters in Lucknow.

The NISHAD (Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal) Party, which represents the dominant boating community of Gorakhpur, played a key role in the Opposition's success in the Gorakhpur by-elections in 2018. This is one of the largest demographic groups in Gorakhpur, the constituency that has elected CM Yogi Adityanath as its MP for years.

As per the current seat sharing arrangement, the SP will contest on 37 seats, BSP on 38 and RLD on three out of the 80 assembly constituencies in the state. The alliance had decided not to contest on two seats - Rai Bareli and Amethi, the traditional bastons of the Congress.

The 2019 General Election in Uttar Pradesh is scheduled to be held in all seven phases from 11 April to 19 May. The counting of votes will be taken up on May 23.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Mar 2019, 08:19:17 PM