News Nation Logo


Odisha MLA Prakash Chandra Behera joins BJP after quitting Congress, lauds PM Modi's leadrship

Earlier, Three MLAs - Nabakishore Das, Jogesh Singh And Krushna Chandra Sagari, Had Resigned From The Congress.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 17 Mar 2019, 01:25:08 PM
Odisha MLA Prakash Chandra Behera joins BJP after quitting Congress

New Delhi:

Odisha MLA Prakash Chandra Behera, who quit the Congress party on Friday, joined the BJP on Sunday in presence of Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan. He represents Cuttack's Salepur constituency.   

“Behera's presence will help us bring about change in Odisha under PM Narendra Modi's leadership,” said Pradhan after the former’s induction into the party.

Praising Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Behera said: "I have faith in Modi's leadership. Youths in my constituency impressed with government's step of surgical strikes."

Earlier, three MLAs - Nabakishore Das, Jogesh Singh and Krushna Chandra Sagari, had resigned from the Congress. While Das and Singh joined the BJD, Sagaria went to the BSP.

In a letter to Congress president Rahul Gandhi, Behera said that he has decided to quit the party after being "ignored" by the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) leadership.

Behera, who was for the first time elected from Salipur segment of Cuttack district in 2014, said he has also sent his resignation letter to OPCC chief Niranjan Patnaik.

"I worked in the party for last 20 years, but did not get importance in the Congress," Behera told reporters.

The Congress legislator claimed that he had raised certain issues with the OPCC president, but they were "ignored".

The Salipur MLA had earlier given indication about his move when he stopped using party flag and banners during a recent padyatra in his constituency.

With Behera's resignation, the number of the Congress MLAs in the 147-member Odisha Assembly has come down to 11.

Of the 16 Congress MLAs elected in 2014 elections, four have resigned from the party and one Subal Sahu from Bijepur in Baragarh district had passed away.

Simultaneous polling will be held in Odisha for its 21 Lok Sabha seats and 147 Assembly constituencies in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.



For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Mar 2019, 01:16:36 PM