News Nation Logo


Opinion Poll: Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool to lose seats, BJP may improve tally in Bengal

In 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) Swept The State By Bagging 34 Of The 42 Lok Sabha Seats.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 13 Mar 2019, 02:43:45 PM

New Delhi:

With 2019 Lok Sabha Elections just around the corner, a red herring has been drawn across the political scene in West Bengal. From the CBI-Kolkata Police face-off to the state government's repeated denials to the BJP's Rath Yatra and several other saffron rallies, West Bengal has become a Modi vs Mamata battle ground ahead of the crucial Lok Sabha polls later in the year. In the meantime, the factor which is creating a lot of buzz all over the state is - who will sweep politically crucial West Bengal in 2019. Will Banerjee be able to retain her stronghold or the political juggernaut of the Modi-Shah duo will win big in the upcoming General Elections 2019.

In a bid to gauge the voting intention in the state, News Nation travelled across all the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal and asked people several questions to find out who will have the better chance to steal the show in 2019.

As per the News Nation poll survey in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress (AITC) is projected to get 29 seats whereas the BJP and the Congress are likely to bag 9 and 2 seats respectively. Left Front may get 2 seats in Lok Sabha Elections 2019. As far as the vote share is concerned, the survey shows that the Trinamool Congress is likely to get 36 per cent votes, followed by the BJP (23%), Left Front (23%), and the Congress (10%).

Talking about the national poll survey, NDA is expected to win 270 seats, falling short of the majority mark of 272. On the other hand, UPA is likely to bag 134 seats, while others may get 139 seats.

In 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) swept the state by bagging 34 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats. While the Congress managed to get 4 parliamentary seats, the BJP gave its best ever performance by reaching to 2 seats, from 1 in 2009. BJP ministers Babul Supriyo and SS Ahluwalia bagged the Asansol and Darjeeling Lok Sabha constituencies with over 4 lakh votes in 2014.

The most unexpected swing of the voters is being recorded against the Left Front, which managed to get only two seats. General Elections in West Bengal is crucial as this is the third biggest state in terms of Lok Sabha seats after Uttar Pradesh (80) and Maharashtra (48).

Results of the opinion poll has been released following the announcement of the Lok Sabha polls schedule on Sunday. While General Elections 2019 will take place in 7 phases between April 11 and May 19, the Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim will also be held simultaneously in April-May 2019.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Mar 2019, 08:39:13 PM