News Nation Logo


3 ex-union ministers from Congress figure in TDP candidates list for LS polls in Andhra Pradesh

Panabaka Lakshmi, Kotla Jayasurya Prakasha Reddy And Kishore Chandra Deo Had Recently Switched Loyalty From Congress To TDP.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 19 Mar 2019, 03:58:52 PM
Kishore Chandra Deo (Left), Kotla Jayasurya Prakasha Reddy, Panabaka Lakshmi (Right).

New Delhi :

Three former union ministers in Manmohan Singh-led UPA government - Panabaka Lakshmi, Kotla Jayasurya Prakasha Reddy and Kishore Chandra Deo - who had recently quit the Congress to join the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), figured in the party's list of candidates for the LOk Sabha elections announced by Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu late on Monday night.

Kishore Chandra Deo, who was the tribal affairs minister in the Congress-led UPA-II government, will contest the Lok Sabha elections on a TDP ticket from Araku seat, while Kotla Surya Prakash Reddy will contest from Kurnool. Reddy was the MoS Railways in earthwhile Manmohan Singh government but joined the TDP few weeks ago.

Panabaka Lakshmi, who was the minister of state (MoS) in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare during UPA-I and Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, and Ministry of Textiles during the UPA-II govenrmen, was named by the TDP as its candidate from Tirupati constituency. She had joined the TDP along with her husband Krishnaiah on Monday in presence of Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu.

The TDP on Tuesday released its third list of candidates that consisted 36 names. Earlier on Saturday, the party had released second list of 15 candidates for the state Assembly Elections. SVSN Varma would be contesting from Pithapuram (East Godavari district), while Vanthala Rajeswari would be nominated from Rampachodavaram (East Godavari). According to a press release issued by the office of TDP general secretary Nara Lokesh, Kagita Venkata Krishna Prasad would contest from Pedana Assembly constituency in Krishna district.

Last week, the ruling TDP had released its first list of 126 candidates. Chief Minister and TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu announced the list in which his son Nara Lokesh and Naidu himself figured, at a late-night press conference. He called it “Mission 150 Plus”, as the party aimed to win at least 150 out of the total 175 seats in the Assembly. The TDP chief, who released an audio song for the campaign, said he would kick start the campaign from Srikakulam district on March 16 after worshipping Lord Venkateswara atop the Tirumala Hills.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 Mar 2019, 02:18:09 PM