News Nation Logo

Punjab Exit Poll 2019: Congress likely to have edge over BJP, may win seven seats

In The 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, The BJP, Along With Its Ally SAD, Managed To Secure Six Seats While Aam Aadmi Party Won Four Seats And Indian National Congress Won Three.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Assem Sharma | Updated on: 19 May 2019, 09:14:02 PM
Punjab Exit Poll 2019: Congress likely to have edge over BJP, may win seven seats (file photo)

New Delhi:

As per News Nation Exit Poll, the NDA is likely to win five seats in Punjab while Congress may emerge victorious on seven seats. On the other hand, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is expected to settle with just one seat.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP, along with its ally SAD, managed to secure six seats while Aam Aadmi Party won four seats and Indian National Congress won three.

Moreover, the BJP-SAD alliance is likely to secure 32 per cent of the votes in the state, while the Congress will garner 37 per cent of the votes. 

Meanwhile, India Today-My Axis Exit Poll has predicted four seats for the BJP and 8-9 seats for the Congress. Moreover, the Times Now-VMR Exit Poll has given three seats to the NDA and ten to the Congress-led UPA.

The News Nation Exit Poll has predicted a clear majority for the BJP with victory on 286 seats, while the Congress -- despite improving its performance in 2014 general elections -- will be left way behind with just 122 seats.  

The voting for all the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab was held in the last and seven phases of polls along with 13 seats in Uttar Pradesh, nine in West Bengal, eight seats each in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, four in Himachal Pradesh, three in Jharkhand and one seat of Chandigarh.

Lets take a look at some of the key contests that took place during the Lok Sabha polls in Punjab:

- Amritsar (2014 Result: Congress, Winner: Captain Amarinder Singh, Margin: 1,02,770)

2019 candidates: Hardeep Singh Puri (BJP) Vs Gurjeet Singh Aujla (Congress) Vs Kuldip Singh Dhaliwal (AAP)

- Gurdaspur (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Vinod Khanna, Margin: 1,36,065)

2019 candidates: Sunny Deol (BJP) Vs Sunil Kumar Jakhar (Congress) Vs Peter Masih (AAP)

-  Bathinda (2014 Result: SAD, Winner: Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Margin: 19,395) 

2019 candidates: Harsimrat Kaur Badal (SAD) Vs Amrinder Singh Raja Warring (Congress) Vs Baljinder Kaur (AAP)

- Firozpur (2014 Result: SAD, Winner: Sher Singh Ghubaya, Margin: 31,420) 

2019 candidates: Sukhbir Singh Badal (SAD) Vs Sher Singh Ghubaya (Congress) Vs Harjinder Singh Kaka Sran (AAP)

- Anandpur Sahib (2014 Result: SAD, Winner: Prem Singh Chandumajra, Margin: 23,697)

2019 candidates: Prem Singh Chandumajra (SAD) Manish Tewari (Congress) Vs Narinder Singh Shergill (AAP)

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 May 2019, 09:14:02 PM