News Nation Logo

Punjab Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: Congress leading in 8 seats; SAD, BJP in 2 seats each

Punjab Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates: The Results Of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 That Was Held In Seven Phases Starting From April 11 To May 19 Is Being Announced Today

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 09:03:59 PM
Punjab Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates: Nearly 59 per cent voting was recorded for Punjab's 13 Lok Sabha seats in the final phase of the general election

New Delhi:

Punjab Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates: The results of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 that was held in seven phases starting from April 11 to May 19 is being announced today. Nearly 59 per cent voting was recorded for Punjab's 13 Lok Sabha seats in the final phase of the general election. As per News Nation's Exit Poll, BJP to lose one seat and settle with five seats only while Congress is expected to win seven seats and AAP to win just one seat. However, the poll of polls giving a near-clear majority to BJP-led NDA at the Centre projected 9-10 seats out of 13 for the Congress in Punjab. 

Punjab Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates:

6.33 pm: 
Congress candidate and Amarinder Singh's wife Preneet Kaur defeats Akali Dal candidate Surjit Singh Rakhra in Punjab's Patiala by 1,62,718 votes.

6.30 pm:
Congress candidate and former Union minister Manish Tewari defeats Akali Dal leader Prem Singh Chandumajra in Punjab's Anandpur Sahib by 46,884 votes.

6.20 pm: 
Congress leader Ravneet Singh Bittu defeats Lok Insaaf Party's Simarjit Singh Bains in Punjab's Ludhiana by 76,372 votes.

4.50 pm: 
Punjab seems to be bucking the Modi wave with the Congress continuing to maintain the lead over eight.

4.30 pm: Trends available: 13/13

Congress: 8
BJP: 2
SAD: 2
AAP: 1
Others: 0

3.50 pm: 
SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal on leading from Bhatinda LS seat: People of Bathinda went with development, voted for 'Sabka saath, Sabka Vikas', I thank them.

3.30 pm: 
Punjab CM Capt. Amarinder Singh on Congress's Sunil Jakhar trailing from Gurdaspur: Sunil ji is a fine candidate, he had done a lot of work there. This is one thing I didn't understand that people gave preference to an actor than to experience.

2.40 pm: 
BJP sitting MP Kirron Kher is leading against Congress candidate Pawan Kumar Bansal from the Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat.

2.30 pm: BJP Gurdaspur candidate Sunny Deol has congratulated Narendra Modi for his succes in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

2.00 pm: The Aam Aadmi Party, which had surprised many by winning four seats in the 2014 general election, is leading only on Sangrur seat.

1.40 pm: Party wise position at 1 pm: 

Congress: 8
AAP: 1
SAD: 2
Others: 0

1.24 pm: 
Congress candidate Manish Tewari is leading by over 11,000 votes from Anandpur Sahib seat over Akali Dal candidate and sitting MP Prem Singh Chandumajra.

1.24 pm: Union minister and SAD candidate Harsimrat Kaur Badal is leading by 6,627 votes from Bathinda seat against her rival and Congress candidate Amrinder Singh Raja Warring.

1.23 pm: From Amritsar seat, sitting MP and Congress candidate Gurjeet Singh Aujla is ahead of BJP candidate Hardeep Singh Puri with a margin of more than 27,000 votes.

1.22 pm: In Patiala, Punjab chief minister Amarinder Singh’s wife and Congress candidate Preneet Kaur is leading over her SAD candidate Surjit Singh Rakhra with a margin of over 38,000 votes.

1.18 pm: Congress maintains lead in 8 seats; SAD, BJP in 2 seats each

11.35 am: Santokh Singh Chaudhary leads from Jalandhar.

11.30 am:
Sukhbir Singh Badal leading from Firozpur.

11.17 am: 
Aam Aadmi Party's Bhagwant Mann leading from Sangrur

11.16 am:
 SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal leading from Bhatinda.

11.15 am: 
Congress candisate Manish Tewari leading from Anandpur Sahib

10.40 am: 
Bhagwant Mann of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is leading against Kewal Singh Dhillon of the Congress.

10.10 am: 
In early trends, Congress leading in 9 seats.

AAP candidate Bhagwant Mann leads in early trends.

09.40 am: 
In early trends: Congress: 9, BJP: 1, Akali Dal: 2, AAP: 1 

09.39 am:
BJP leading in 1 seat.

Akali Dal leading in 2 seats.

09.37: C
ongress leading in 9 seats.

09.28: In early trends, AAP leading in 1 seat.

09.11 am:
In early trends: Congress: 7, BJP: 1, Akali Dal: 1 

BJP leading on 1 seat.

09.10 am:
Akalai Dal leading on 1 seat in early trend.

09.09 am:
Congress leads on 7 seats in early trends.

09.00 am:
Sunny Deol leads in early trends from Gurdaspur.

8.46 am:
Shiromani Akali Dal leading on 1 seat.

8.32 am: 
Preneet Kaur from Patiala constituency leading.

8.32 am:
Congress leading on 1 seat.

8.10 am:
 In first round, the polling officers will count around 16 lakh postal ballots.

8 am: 
Counting begins

7.55 am: 
Visuals from outside a counting centre in Jalandhar

7.40 am: 
As many as 278 candidates, including 24 women, are in the fray in Punjab.

7.10 am: 
Thirty-nine companies of central forces have been deployed for the security of EVMs at 21 locations across Punjab.

6.40 am:
Lok Sabha seats in 2014: Congress-3 (Now 4 after it won the Gurdaspur by-election); SAD-BJP-6 (4+2) (BJP lost Gurdaspur in a by-election); AAP-4

6.23 am: 
Nearly 59 per cent voting was recorded for Punjab’s 13 Lok Sabha seats in the final phase of the general election.

6.20 am:
Counting to begin at 8 am.


For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 09:32:14 AM