News Nation Logo

Mahagathbandhan likely to hurt BJP’s prospects in UP, Exit Poll predicts equal seats for both

The BJP Along With Its Ally Apna Dal Is Likely To Win 39 Seats Of The 80 Seats In Uttar Pradesh.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 19 May 2019, 11:36:56 PM
Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati (File Photo)

Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati (File Photo)

New Delhi:

As predicted by pollsters and experts, the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party ‘mahagathbandhan’ is likely to hurt the BJP’s sentiments in the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh.

According to the News Nation Exit Poll, the BJP along with its ally Apna Dal is likely to win 39 seats in the state which sends 80 members to the Lok Sabha. On the other hand, the SP-BSP-RLD alliance is expected to win as many number of seats while the Congress may be confined to just two seats.

The data of the exit poll shows a massive dip in the NDA’s seat share against its tally of 2014 when it swept the state, winning 73 seats. The BJP completely routed the Samajwadi Party (SP), the Congress and the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in the state. Both the BSP and the Ajit Singh's Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) were not able to open their accounts in the Lok Sabha polls.

The BJP received 3,43,18,854 votes with a vote share of 42.6 per cent and won 71 seats in Uttar Pradesh. The Congress was able to get 60,61,267 votes with a vote share of just 7.5 per cent and won 2 seats of Amethi and Rae Bareli. The BSP received 1,59,14,194 votes with a decent vote share of 19.8 per cent but failed to win a single seat in the state.

This time, the vote share of the BJP is also expected to witness a downward trend and is expected to garner 41 per cent of the votes against the Mahagathbandhan’s 42 per cent.

In a state which virtually decides the fate of parties’ national ambitions, the BJP seeks to repeat its performance of the 2014 Lok Sabha polls and the 2017 Assembly elections, it is facing stiff challenge from the SP-BSP-RLD alliance. 

The BJP managed to retain its ally Apna Dal but faced setback with Om Prakash Rajbhar’s SBSP parting ways and fielding its candidates on 39 seats. However, it wooed the NISHAD Party and inducted 'giant killer' Pravin Nishad into its fold. 

On the other hand, the once-rivals Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party entered into a historic alliance and also got Chaudhary Ajit Singh’s RLD on board, in order to keep BJP out of power in the state.

Meanwhile, the Congress – revived by the recent victories in Hindi heartland states of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan – is hoping to turn the tide with the entry of Priyanka Gandhi Vadra. It is contesting on 67 seats.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 May 2019, 08:57:20 PM