News Nation Logo

Tamil Nadu Exit Poll LIVE: Stalin-led DMK alliance likely to sweep state with 27-29 seats

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections Exit Poll 2019 LIVE Updates: Lok Sabha Elections 2019 For 542 Of 543 Constituencies Were Held In 7 Phases. The South Indian State Of Tamil Nadu Has 39 Seats In The Lok Sabha. Stalin-led DMK Alliance Is Likely To Sweep State With 27-29 Seats While AIADMK And BJP's Coalition Is Likely To Bag Only 8 To Seats. Stay Tuned With News Nation For The Live Updates Of Karnataka Exit Poll.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 19 May 2019, 07:42:38 PM
Tamil Nadu Exit Poll LIVE: AIADMK & Congress likely to win (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Lok Sabha elections 2019 for 542 of 543 constituencies were held in 7 phases. It came to an end on Sunday (May 19) evening. The result for Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be declared on May 23. The South Indian state of Tamil Nadu has 39 seats in the Lok Sabha. According to the News Nation, Stalin-led DMK alliance is likely to sweep state with 27-29 seats while AIADMK and BJP's coalition is likely to bag only 8 to seats. Stay tuned with News Nation for the live updates of Tamil Nadu exit poll.

Below are the LIVE updates of exit poll in Tamil Nadu:

7:30 pm:


6:47 pm: Others are likely to get 12 per cent of vote share in the state. Out of 39 seats, Others are likely to win 0-2 seats. 

6:46 pm: Congress+DMK+VCK+MDMK+IUML+Left (CPI and CPM) coalition  is likely to get upto 45 per cent of vote share in the state. Out of 39 seats, coalition is likely to win 27 to 29 seats. 

6:45 pm: AIADMK+BJP+PMK+DMDK coalition is likely to get upto 40 per cent of vote share in the state. Out of 39 seats, coalition is like to win 8 to 10 seats.            

6:40 pm: At present, Edapaddi Palaniswami of the AIADMK is the chief minister of Tamil Nadu.

6:39 pm: After the death of Jayalalithaa in December 2016, there was a turmoil in the AIADMK, which has still to fully cool down, with warring factions often taking each other on.

6:38 pm: The Indian National Congress had won 8 seats, with 6. 5 per cent votes, while the one remaining seat went to the Indian Union Muslim League, which polled 0.7 per cent votes in the state.

6:37 pm: The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) had won 89 seats with 32.1 per cent votes.

6:36 pm: Tamil Nadu has 232 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2016, the AIADMK, under the leadership of late J Jayalalithaa, had bagged 134 of those seats with a vote share 41.3 per cent.

6:34 pm: At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Tamil Nadu had a total of 55,114,742 registered electors, of whom 73.74 per cent, or 40,644,282, exercised their right to franchise across 60,817 polling stations to choose their 39 Members of Parliament from among 845 candidates.

6:32 pm: In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) bagged 37 of these seats with a vote share of 44.9 per cent.

6:20 pm: Key contests of 2019 Lok Sabha Elections in Tamil Nadu

Chennai Central: Dayanidhi Maran (DMK) Vs Sam Paul (PMK)

Sriperumbudur: TR Baalu (DMK) Vs A Vaithialingam (PMK)

Nilgiris: A Raja (DMK) Vs M Thiyagarajan (AIADMK)

Coimbatore: CP Radhakrishnan Vs PR Natarajan (CPM)

Karur: M Thambidurai (AIADMK) Vs Jothimani (Congress)

Chidambaram: Thol Thirumavalavan (VCK) Vs P Chandrasekar (AIADMK)

Sivaganga: H Raja (BJP) Vs Karti Chidambaram (Congress)

Theni: OP Ravindranath Kumar (AIADMK) Vs EVKS Elangovan (Congress)

Thoothukkudi: Kanimozhi (DMK) Vs Tamilisai Soundararajan (BJP)

Kanyakumari: H Vasanthakumar (Congress) Vs Pon Radhakrishnan (BJP)

6:19 pm: BJP is in coalition with AIADMK, PMK and DMDK while Congress is coalition with DMK, VCK, MDMK, IUML and Left parties.

6:17 pm: Tamil Nadu went into Lok Sabha elections on all 39 seats in phase 2 on April 18.

6:15 pm: The South Indian state of Tamil Nadu has 39 seats in the Lok Sabha.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 May 2019, 07:42:38 PM