News Nation Logo

Telangana Lok Sabha Election Results: TRS leads in nine, BJP in four, Congress in three seats

The TRS And AIMIM Had An Electoral Understanding In The April 11 Elections In Telangana, Which Has A Total Of 17 Seats.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 05:36:04 PM
Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao

New Delhi:

The ruling TRS party established an edge in nine Lok Sabha segments even as the BJP appeared to be on course to make smart gains by leading in four seats as per the latest trends available at 5 PM Thursday.

The Congress also appeared to be on the way to improve its performance, as its candidates are leading in three seats.

AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi was ahead in Hyderabad seat, where he is seeking re-election for the fourth successive time, according to Election Commission sources.

Owaisi was leading by 2.72 lakh votes over his BJP rival Bhagavanth Rao.

The TRS and AIMIM had an electoral understanding in the April 11 elections in Telangana, which has a total of 17 seats.

The two parties had repeatedly claimed that they would sweep the polls.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the TRS had bagged 11 seats and the Congress two.

The BJP, TDP, YSRCP and AIMIM shared one each.

TRS supremo and Telangana Chief Ministers daughter K Kavitha was trailing in Nizamabad by 39,145 votes to BJP's D Arvind.

The BJP had suffered a humiliating defeat in the Assembly elections last December, winning just one seat and forfeiting deposits in more than 100 constituencies.

The TRS had returned to power with the rich haul of 88 seats in the 119-member House.

The Congress turned in a poor performance with its candidates winning only in 19 Assembly segments.

But the Rahul Gandhi-led outfit suffered huge setbacks in the State with 11 MLAs announcing switching loyalty to the TRS since the beginning of March.

BJP candidates were also leading in Adilabad, Karimnagar and Secunderabad.

Congress nominees were leading in Bhongir, Nalgonda and Malkajgiri.

Telangana Congress working president A Revanth Reddy was leading in Malkajgiri by 9,946 votes over TRSs M Rajasekhar Reddy as per the latest trends available.

Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy established a lead of 25,682 votes in Nalgonda.

BJP candidate B Sanjay was leading by 89,508 votes against his nearest rival and sitting TRS MP B Vinod Kumar in Karimnagar.

Soyam Bapurao of BJP was leading by 58,108 votes over his TRS rival Godam Nagesh in Adilabad, official sources said.

Reacting to the poll trends, BJP General Secretary P Muralidhar Rao said the party represents "the politics of change in the southern states.

BJP has put in efforts to emerge as the alternative in Telangana for many years and it is now clear that the state is extending its support to the leadership of Modi, Rao said.

Kotha Prabhakar Reddy, TRS nominee, was leading by 3.16 lakh votes over Congress rival Anil Kumar Gali in Medak, while the partys Warangal candidate Dayakar Pusunoori was ahead by nearly 3.50 lakh votes over Congress rival Dommati Sambaiah.


Former union Minister Renuka Chowdary was trailing by 1.66 lakh votes in Khammam segment to TRS nominee N Nageswara Rao.

Telangana Lok Sabha Election Results: TRS leads in nine, BJP in four, Congress in three seats

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 05:36:04 PM