News Nation Logo

Telangana Lok Sabha Elections Exit Poll 2019: KCR's TRS set to sweep Southern state

Telangana, Which Went To Polls In The First Phase Of General Elections On April 11, Recorded 62.69 Percent Turnout Across Its 17 Lok Sabha Constituencies.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 20 May 2019, 12:35:42 AM

New Delhi:

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), led by Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, is likely to gain 47 per cent vote share in 2019 Lok Sabha elections across Telanagana, according to News Nation Exit Poll. On the other hand, the Congress and the BJP are projected to bag 29 per cent and 12 per cent of the total votes respectively in the Southern state. As far as the seat share is concerned, the TRS is likely to win 15-17 seats in Telangana while both the BJP and the Congress will not be able to open their accounts in the state. Talking about the National Exit Poll, conducted by News Nation, the BJP-led NDA will sail past the magic figure winning 282-290 seats, while UPA may get 118-126 seats.

The News Nation Exit Poll comes minutes after the conclusion of the seven-phase mammoth Lok Sabha elections at 6 pm on Sunday. Several national pollsters started airing the exit poll results from 6:30 pm as the Election Commission mandated a half-an-hour gap to telecast the data following the end of the election. The survey is based on responses of around 40,000 people who have cast their votes in their respective constituencies in the Southern state.

Telangana, which went to polls in the first phase of General Elections on April 11, recorded 62.69 percent turnout across its 17 Lok Sabha constituencies, where former Union minister Renuka Chowdhury and AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi are among prominent candidates in the fray. Khammam recorded the highest percentage at 75.28, while Hyderabad, from where Owaisi is seeking re-election, registered 44.75 percent. Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency, where 185 candidates, including more than 170 farmers are in the fray, registered 68.33 percent polling. A total of 443 candidates were in the fray in the state which has over 2.97 crore eligible voters.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the TRS had bagged 11 seats while the Congress won two and the TDP, the YSR Congress, the BJP and the MIM got one each.

The seven phase Lok Sabha elections 2019 in 543 parliamentary constituencies has taken place on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The counting of votes for all phases will be taken up on May 23.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 May 2019, 12:35:42 AM