News Nation Logo


Union Minister Radhakrishnan, Tamilisai in BJP's Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha list

Pon Radhakrishnan Was An Obvious Choice As He Was One Of The Two Non-AIADMK Candidates To Have Won A Lok Sabha Seat From The State In 2014.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 21 Mar 2019, 11:18:21 PM
Pon Radhakrishnan has been fielded from Tamil Nadu's Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha constituency. (File Photo)

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan from Tamil Nadu's Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha constituency in the 2019 elections. Union Minister JP Nadda, who is also the Secretary of the national party’s Parliamentary Board, announced list of five candidates from the state on Thursday.

The other names are - state unit President Tamilisai Soundararajan from Thoothukkudi, National Secretary H. Raja from Sivaganga, CP Radhakrishnan from Coimbatore and Nainar Nagendran from Ramanathapuram.

Pon Radhakrishnan was an obvious choice as he was one of the two non-AIADMK candidates to have won a Lok Sabha seat from the state in 2014.

On his part, Raja had been active for the past five years with his controversial comments. He is expected for face Karti Chidambaram son of former Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

Soundararajan will be crossing swords with DMK's Kanimozhi.

A former AIADMK Minister, Nagendran had joined BJP in 2017 and would fight against Nagas Kani of the IUML.

With Agency Inputs

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Mar 2019, 11:02:33 PM