News Nation Logo

UP LS Polls Results 2019 Highlights: Modi leads BJP's victroy march, Rahul loses Amethi

With Massive Lead On More Than 60 Seats, UP Has Still Put Its Faith In NDA.Smriti Irani Creates Record

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 09:19:26 PM

New Delhi:

UP Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates: Counting has begun for the votes of teh Lok Sabha Elections. With 80 Lok Sabha seats, Uttar Pradesh has the most parliamentary seats and is also the largest state of India by population. The BJP has been ruling the state since 2017 under Yogi Adityanath and made a comeback in Uttar Pradesh after 15 long years. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) along with its ally Apna Dal swept the state and won 73 seats together. The BJP completely routed the Samajwadi Party (SP), the Congress and the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in the state. Both the BSP and the Ajit Singh's Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) were not able to open their accounts in the Lok Sabha polls. With all exit polls predicting thumping victory for the NDA, UP holds the key to power equations in the National Capital. 

Here are highlights from Uttar Pradesh:

Mayawati's first reaction after Mahagathbandhan performance in UP

Today's result is against the expectations and sentiments of people. Anyway, when all the institutions of the country start bending their knees before the government, the public has to take a stand, says Mayawati.

Nagina results out

BSP candidate Girish Chandra defeats BJP's Yashwant Singh in Uttar Pradesh's Nagina by 1,66,832 votes.

Robertsganj results

BJP ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) candidate Pakauri Lal Kol defeats SP candidate Bhai Lal in Uttar Pradesh's Robertsganj by 54,336 votes.

Ravi Kishan wins Gorakhpur seat

BJP's Ravi Kishan defeats Samajwadi Party's Rambhual Nishad in Uttar Pradesh's Gorakhpur by 3,01,664 votes.

Smriti Irani’s first reaction on winning Amethi

‘कौन कहता है आसमां में सुराख नहीं हो सकता ...,’ tweets Irani.

Priyanka Gandhi on poll debacle

'We accept people's verdict and congratulate PM Modi and BJP workers,' says Congress General Secretary for UP east Priyanka Gandhi Vadra. 

Amethi chooses BJP

Smriti Irani wins Amethi. Rahul Gandhi has also congratulated the Union Minister. 

BJP's Akshaibar Lal defeats SP's Shabbir Ahmad Balmiki in Bahraich

BJP's Akshaibar Lal defeats Samajwadi Party candidate Shabbir Ahmad Balmiki in Uttar Pradesh's Bahraich by 1,28,752 votes. Congress candidate and BJP's rebel sitting MP Savitri Bai Phule bags just 34,454 votes.   

Vote share arithmetic

With present leads, BJP vote share in UP is 49%, which is 6% more than 2014. 

Modi retains Varanasi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has won from Varanasi Lok Sabha seat by a record margin. He defeated his nearest rival Samajwadi Party's Shalini Yadav by over 3,80,000 votes.

Rahul Gandhi trails in Amethi by 11,000 votes

Smriti Irani is maintaining her steady lead in the Congress bastion.  

Hema Malini leads in Mathura

Looks like Modi wave couldn't save this minister

Union Minister Manoj Sinha trailing from Ghazipur

Dharmendra Yadav from Budaun is trailing.

Current trends @ 11:49 am

Senion Congress leader Jitin Prasada is trailing in Dhaurahra.

Counting underway

Counting is underway for all seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi to decide the fate of 164 candidates, who contested the Lok Sabha elections here on May 12.

Sakshi Maharaj sweeps Unnao

Current trends @ 10:54 am shows that Sakshi Maharaj is leading by more than 1 lakh votes in Unnao 

Current trends @ 10:51 am

Narendra Modi is leading by 70,000 votes in Varanasi.

Current leads @ 9:51 am: Ravi Kishan gets massive lead in Gorakhpur with staggering 16,000 votes

Bad, bad news for Akhilesh Yadav, Mayawati, early trends spell doom

Bua-Babua alliance fails to stop NDA juggernaut in early trends @9:43 am

BJP: 49

BSP: 10

SP: 3

Congress 1

Official Numbers @ 9:30

The official Election Commission tally of early trends shows that Bahujan Samaj Party is leading on 10 seats, whereas the Samajwadi Party is leading on just 3 seats.

Status @ 9:25 am

Maneka Gandhi leads from Sultanpur. Rita Bahuguna Joshi leads from Allahabad.

Varanasi: Round 1 counting completed: Figures @ 9:16 am

In Varanasi, the first round of counting has been completed. Narendra Modi has massive lead of 11,000 votes. Official figures are:

Narendra Modi: 21236

Ajai Rai: 9984

Shalini Yadav: 9261

Smriti Irani maintains early trends, leads in Amethi by 2,000 votes

Good news for BJP in Noida

Mahesh Sharma leads from Gautam Buddha Nagar.

Raj Babbar trails

Early trends spell trouble for Congress, Raj Babbar trails in Fatehpur Sikri.

Ravi Kishan is leading in Gorakhpur

Actor-turned-politician Ravi Kishan is leading in Gorakhpur. Some media reports had said that the popular actor with cult following in UP and Bihar was chosen to quell resentment among local leaders.

Rahul Gandhi trails in Amethi

NDA's mega surge in UP

Out of early morning trends of 16 seats, Modi-led NDA is leading on 14 seats! 

Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party is leading from Aonla, shows early trends. 

Blessings from Maa Ganga! Narendra Modi leads from Varanasi

Lucknow, the heart of UP, is in saffron mode, Rajnath Singh leads in early trends

Early trends show VK Singh is leading from Ghaziabad

What happens when postal ballots are counted in morning?

The exercise of counting postal ballots manually will itself take a couple of hours at least, an Election Commission official said.

Early start

It seems the NDA has got edge in intial counting. The incumbent alliance is leading on one seat in Uttar Pradesh.  

Counting begins, nation awaits for mega mandate

In first round, the polling officers will count around 16 lakh postal ballots.

Where will Lucknow go?

Poonam Sinha, the Samajwadi Party candidate from Lucknow, has reached the counting centre. Talking to media persons, Mrs Sinha said slammed the exit polls and said that she is sure of her victory.

It's prayer time for Ravi Kishan, who is contesting from BJP bastion Gorakhpur. (Pic courtesy: ANI)

Ghaziabad to Agra, constituencies that voted in first two phases

Polling was held in 8 Lok Sabha seats namely Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Baghpat, Kairana, Meerut, Bijnor, Saharanpur and Muzaffarnagar in the first phase. Aligarh, Nagina, Hathras, Mathura, Bulandshahr, Amroha, Agra and Fatehpur Sikri went for polls in the second phase on April 18. 

When did Uttar Pradesh vote?

Uttar Pradesh voted in all seven phases on April 11, 18, 23, 29, May 6, 12 and 19. 

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 May 2019, 09:19:26 PM