News Nation Logo


Voter ID more powerful than terrorists' IED: PM Modi after voting in Ahmedabad's Ranip

Out Of 116 Seats Going To Poll Today BJP Has To Defend 62 Seats While Congress Has To Defend 16 Seats. BJP Had Won All 26 Seats In Gujarat In 2014.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 23 Apr 2019, 09:20:23 AM

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi fulfilled his duty as a citizen as he cast his vote in the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections at a booth in Ahmedabad’s Ranip on Tuesday. Before voting, PM Modi went to meet his mother Heeraben in Gandhinagar in early morning hours. After the brief meeting, PM Modi went to Ranip where he met BJP chief Amit Shah and his family. After casting his vote and a mini roadshow, PM Modi said that the "voter ID" (identity card) was much more powerful than the "IED" (improvised explosive device) of terrorists. “Today third phase of polling is underway, I am fortunate that I also got the opportunity to fulfill my duty in my home state of Gujarat. Like you feel pure after a holy dip in Kumbh, one feels pure after casting vote in this festival of democracy,” he added.

PM Modi arrived at the polling station set up in Nishan High School, located in the Ranip area of Gujarat's Ahmedabad city, in an open jeep in the morning and exercised his democratic right. Amit Shah, who is contesting the Lok Sabha election from the Gandhinagar seat, welcomed him outside the school and accompanied him to the booth.

While arriving at the polling booth, he greeted thousands of people who had gathered on both sides of the road. After casting his vote, Modi walked some distance from the polling booth and later had a brief interaction with media persons.

Out of 116 seats going to poll today BJP has to defend 62 seats while Congress has to defend 16 seats. BJP had won all 26 seats in Gujarat in 2014.

Key contests of 2019 Lok Sabha Elections Phase 3 in Gujarat

1. Gandhinagar (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Lal Krishna Advani, Margin: 4,83,121)

2019 candidates: Amit Shah (BJP) Vs CJ Chavda (Congress)

Gandhinagar has been BJP's bastion since 1989. The saffron party has not lost the seat in last 30 years and its veteran Lal Krishna Advani represented the seat six times in 1991, 1998, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014. Former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee also won the seat in 1996 when Advani chose not to contest due to Hawala scam. However, Vajpayee retained his Lucknow seat and left Gandhinagar which was again won by the BJP in a bypoll later. The Congress last won the seat in 1984. BJP president Amit Shah will contest his first Lok Sabha polls from Gandhinagar this time replacing Advani.

2. Anand (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Dilip Patel, Margin: 63,426)

2019 candidates: Miteshbhai Patel (BJP) Vs Bharatsinh M Solanki (Congress)

Congress leader Bharatsinh Solanki will be pitted against BJP's Miteshbhai Patel from Anand. In 2014, BJP's Dilip Patel defeated Solanki by a margin of over 63,000 votes. Solanki represented the seat in 2004 and 2009. In the last seven elections, the Congress won the seat 5 times.

3. Ahmedabad West (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Kirit Solanki, Margin: 3,20,311)

2019 candidates: Kirit Solanki (BJP) Vs Raju Parmar (Congress)

BJP candidate Kirit Solanki will again try to register victory in Ahmedabad West seat for the saffron party against Congress leader Raju Parmar. Solanki has been winning the seat since its inception after delimitation in 2009. Before the 2009 delimitation, BJP's Harin Pathak represented the Ahmedabad Lok Sabha seat six times in 1989, 1991, 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2004. Pathak also represented the newly formed Ahmedabad East seat in 2009.

4. Bharuch (2014 Result: BJP, Winner: Mansukhbhai Vasava, Margin: 1,53,273)

2019 candidates: Mansukhbhai Vasava (BJP) Vs Abdul Shakur Pathan (Congress)

In 2014, Mansukhbhai Vasava won the seat for the BJP when he defeated Congress leader Jayeshbhai Patel by over 1,50,000 votes. Vasava has been representing the seat since 1998, when he won the byboll necessitated due to the death of Chandubhai Deshmukh. The BJP has never lost the seat since 1989. Ahmed Patel of the Congress won the seat in 1984 for the last time. Patel represented the Congress in 1977 and 1980 also. BJP's Chandubhai Deshmukh won the seat four times in 1989, 1991, 1996 and 1998.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Apr 2019, 09:00:47 AM