News Nation Logo

What Uttar Pradesh was in 2014, Bengal will be in 2019: BJP's Ram Madhav after exit polls

What Uttar Pradesh Was In 2014, Bengal Will Be In 2019: BJP's Ram Madhav After Exit Polls

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 20 May 2019, 12:31:47 PM

New Delhi:

Buoyed over the exit polls predicting NDA’s return to power on May 23, BJP’s Ram Madhav has slammed that post-poll politics by the Opposition leaders. “Mahagathbandhan had failed even before election began, many parties tried to create a Mahagathbandhan but failed to do so in even a single state. After polls, they tried again but what couldn't happen before the poll, I don't think will happen after the poll,” Madhav was quoted as saying by news agency ANI.

On the West Bengal predictions, Madhav said, “Bengal will surprise all the pollsters, we are hoping to do extremely well there. Everyone has seen the tremendous outpouring of support for PM Modi & BJP in Bengal. What Uttar Pradesh was in 2014, Bengal will be in 2019.”

According to News Nation Exit Poll, BJP-led NDA and SP-BSP alliance are likely to win 38-40 seats each, while Congress may win 2-3 in Uttar Pradesh. As predicted by pollsters and experts, the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party ‘mahagathbandhan’ is likely to hurt the BJP’s sentiments in the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh.

The data of the exit poll shows a massive dip in the NDA’s seat share against its tally of 2014 when it swept the state, winning 73 seats. The BJP completely routed the Samajwadi Party (SP), the Congress and the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in the state. Both the BSP and the Ajit Singh's Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) were not able to open their accounts in the Lok Sabha polls.

The BJP received 3,43,18,854 votes with a vote share of 42.6 per cent and won 71 seats in Uttar Pradesh. The Congress was able to get 60,61,267 votes with a vote share of just 7.5 per cent and won 2 seats of Amethi and Rae Bareli. The BSP received 1,59,14,194 votes with a decent vote share of 19.8 per cent but failed to win a single seat in the state.

The News Nation Exit Poll predicts that the BJP is likely to improve its tally by bagging 10-12 seats in the state, while the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) may win 26-28 seats. The Left Front and the Congress may end up getting 18 per cent and 10 per cent of the total votes respectively. As far as the vote share is concerned, the Trinamool Congress is predicted to get 36 per cent of the total votes followed by the BJP (30%), Left (18%) and Congress (10%).

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 May 2019, 12:31:47 PM