News Nation Logo

Akshay's National Film Award for best actor questioned over his proximity with a judge

Many In Social Media Are Attributing Akshay's Win To His Close Proximity To Priyadarshan.

PTI | Updated on: 08 Apr 2017, 08:41:33 AM
Akshay Kumar and Priyadarshan

New Delhi:

While Akshay Kumar's best actor win for 'Rustom' in 64th National Film Awards on Friday raising questions in peoples' mind, Priyadarshan, the chairperson of the feature film section for the National Film Awards expresses his shock over peoples' question about his frequent collaborator's win.

The filmmaker has collaborated with Akshay in films like 'Hera Pheri', 'Garam Masala', 'Bhagam Bhaag', 'Bhool Bhulaiya', 'De Dana Dan' and 'Khatta Meetha'.

Many in social media are attributing Akshay's win to his close proximity to Priyadarshan.

But the director says last year Ramesh Sippy was head of the jury and none questioned his good friend Amitabh Bachchan's best actor win, so why should he and Akshay be subjected to such allegations.

"I have heard of all that and I will answer it in a simple way. When Ramesh Sippy was jury head Amitabh Bachchan won. When Prakash Jha was head of jury, Ajay Devgn won.

Also Read: 64th National Film Awards: Akshay Kumar Best Actor for Rustom, Neerja Best Film; Zaira Wasim Best Supporting Actress

"So none questioned at that time. So why all these questions are cropping up today," Priyadarshan told PTI.

The filmmaker also clarified that Akshay's performance in 'Rustom' and 'Airlift' were considered by the jury during the selection process.

However, as only the name of one film could be mentioned, the list featured the courtroom drama 'Rustom', he said.

"Akshay was given the best actor on the basis of his performance in two films -- 'Airlift' and 'Rustom'. It was the jury's decision. One performance was dramatic and one was realistic.

"But according to the rule book, only one film can be mentioned and 'Rustom' was mentioned in the list. But the award recognises his performance in both the movies."

This year saw the dominance of regional cinema at the National Film Awards with Marathi film 'Kasaav' winning best feature film, Surabhi CM getting best actress and Rajesh Mapuskar being named best director for Marathi movie 'Ventilator'.

Also Read: Fire at Kamal Hassan's House! Actor escapes unhurt with help of staff

For all the Latest Entertainment News, Bollywood News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Apr 2017, 08:05:00 AM