News Nation Logo


'Baahubali', 'Sultan' to be part of Indian Panorma section at IFFI 2016

National Award-winning Film Baahubali: The Beginning, Bajirao Mastani And Salman Khan-starrer Sultan Will Be Screened At The Indian Panorama Section At 47th International Film Festival Of India In Goa In November.

PTI | Updated on: 29 Oct 2016, 12:01:40 AM
'Baahubali', 'Sultan' to be part of IFFI 2016


National award-winning film "Baahubali: The Beginning", "Bajirao Mastani" and Salman Khan-starrer "Sultan" will be screened at the Indian Panorama section at 47th International Film Festival of India in Goa in November.

Akshay Kumar-starrer patriotic drama "Airlift" will also be screened at the extravaganza to be held from November 20 to November 28.

The other 22 feature films in the section are Marathi blockbuster "Sairat", Sanskrit movie "ISHTI", which is also the opening film of the feature section, Bengali drama "Shankhachil" and Tamil sports drama "Irudhi Suttru".

The non-feature film section jury has picked 21 films out of 198 eligible entries. The jury has recommended, "Ima Sabitri" directed by Bobo KH, as the opening non-feature film under the category.

National Award winning film "Amdavad Ma Famous" directed by Hardik Mehta will also be screened in the section.

The Feature Film Section Jury is headed by filmmaker Rajendra Singh Babu, while documentary filmmaker Arvind Sinha chairs the non-feature film section jury.

Apart from this, the festival will also have a special section to showcase award-winning short films based on Prime Minister Narendra Modi's initiative 'Swachh Bharat Abhiyan'.

The short films were awarded at the Swachh Bharat Film Festival, organised and curated by National Film Development Corporation (NFDC) on the behalf of Ministry of Information & Broadcasting, recently.

The festival received 4,346 entries, of which 20 were shortlisted and awarded.

Short film "Murga", helmed by debutante director Katyayan Shivpuri, will be the opening film at IFFI under the special section of short films.

The short was awarded the first prize at the Swachh Bharat Film Festival at the hands of Information & Broadcasting Minister M Venkaiah Naidu.

Other short films that will be screened under thespecial section include "Nanha Doot" by Sudhanshu Sharma, "Chembuku Moodindi" (The Dying Vessel) by KVK Kumar, "Sarkarmi Rati Wadho" by Akshay Danavale, "Manini" by Praveen Vyas among others. 

For all the Latest Entertainment News, Bollywood News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Oct 2016, 11:49:00 PM