News Nation Logo

Jio Filmfare awards East: Prosenjit wins best actor award for Sankhachil

A Host Of Actors From Bengali Film Industry Attended The Star-studded Ceremony, Which Was Hosted By Jishu Sengupta And Abir Chatterjee.

PTI | Updated on: 27 Feb 2017, 08:47:25 AM
Jio Filmfare awards East: Prosenjit wins best actor award for Sankhachil


Tollywood superstar Prosenjit Chatterjee got the best actor in leading role (male) award for border-themed “Sankhachil”, while “Cinemawala” was adjudged the best film at the Jio Filmfare awards East 2017.

“Cinemawala” director Kaushik Ganguly got the award for the best director and also best original story at the award ceremony on Sunday night.

The eastern edition of the Jio Filmfare wards was launched in recently.

Veteran actor Paran Bandyopadhyay got the critics choice best actor (male) for “Cinemawala”, while Rituparna Sengupta was adjudged as the best actor (female) for “Praktan”, a relationship based film, by a jury of film critics, aficionados and film-loving audience.

The best actor (female) gong went to Swastika Mukherjee for her portrayal of a complex female character in “Saheb Bibi Golaam.”

The thriller genre layered film, which also talked about attacks on women, also brought best supporting actor award for versatile Ritwik Chakroborty. Best supporting actor award was in fact jointly given to Ritwik and “Egoler Chokh” sensation Anirban Bhattacharya.

Mercurial Bengali singer Naciketa Chakroborty, credited with infusing ‘jibonmukhi’ element into Bengali songs in early 90s, got the best playback male award for “Ek Purono” Mosjid song in “Zulfiqar”.

The best female playback singer (female) was given to Iman Chakraborty for “Tumi Jake Bhalobaso” track in “Praktan”, while Piku music man Anupam Roy got the best lyricist award for the same track of “Praktan.”

“We feel honoured to be given recognition by Filmfare awards committee which will go a long way in supporting content-rich Bengali cinema,” Prosenjit said.

A host of actors from Bengali film industry attended the star-studded ceremony, which was hosted by Jishu Sengupta and Abir Chatterjee. 

For all the Latest Entertainment News, Bollywood News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Feb 2017, 08:41:00 AM