News Nation Logo

64th National Film Awards: Akshay Kumar Best Actor for Rustom, Neerja Best Film; Zaira Wasim Best Supporting Actress

Over Ten Malayalam Film Have Reached The Final Round. The List Of Nominees For Best Actor Includes Vinayakan, Who Won The Kerala Government’s Best Actor Award For His Outstanding Performance As Ganga In Kammattipadam.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Neha Singh | Updated on: 08 Apr 2017, 08:25:49 AM
Live: 64th National Film Awards check winners and nomination list here (File Photo)

New Delhi:

The 64th National Film Award has begun, this was one of the much-awaited awards. The list of the winners of the 64th National Film Awards for the films was released in 2016 but the winner's name will be declared during a press conference at 11:30 am at National Media Centre in New Delhi on Friday, April 7. Indian Filmmaker Priyadarshan who is the chairperson of the jury in feature films category, cinematographer and writer Raju Misra is the chairperson in non-feature category.

Over ten Malayalam film have reached the final round. The list of nominees for best actor includes Vinayakan, who won the Kerala Government’s Best Actor award for his outstanding performance as Ganga in Kammattipadam.

Film Director Shri Radha Krishna Jagarlamudi is the Jury Member for Film Friendly Award. Eminent film critic Smt Bhawana Somaaya is the Jury Chairperson in Writing Jury.

Bollywood star Akshay Kumar won his first National Film Award for his role in court room drama "Rustom" which was inspired by the 1959 Nanavati case. The movie, directed by Tinu Suresh Desai, was loosely based on the murder of Prem Ahuja by Commander K M Nanavati.

Rajesh Mapuska will be honored as the best director for his Marathi film "Ventilator". The jury, headed by filmmaker Priyadarshan, chose Amitabh Bachchan-starrer "Pink", a female-centric courtroom drama, as the best film on social issues.

Sonam Kapoor-starrer "Neerja", a story on flight attendantNeerja Bhanot who was killed by terrorists while saving passengers after the plane was hijacked, bagged the best Hindifilm award. The actress received a special mention for hercritically-lauded performance.

Here are the Live updates of 64th National Film Awards 2016:

# Surabhi C M was named as the best actress for her role in Malayalam film "Minnaminungu-The Firefly"

# Marathifilm "Kaasav" was named the best picture 

Best Feature Film on social issues is 'Pink'

Special Mention Award 'The Eyes of Darkness'

# Best Hindi Feature Film is 'Neeraja', directed by Ram Madhvani

Award for Best children film goes to 'Dhanak', 

# Best Hindi Feature Film is 'Neerja', directed by Ram Madhvani

Best Actor of the year conferred to Shri Akshay Kumar

# Best Bengali Film conferred to ' Bisarjan'

Best Kannada Film conferred to 'Reservation'

Best Environmental film including agriculture conferred to 'The Tiger who crossed the line'

Best Marathi film conferred to 'Dashakriya'

# Best Short Fiction Film: Abba

# Special Animation Film Award: Hum Picture Banate Hai

# Best Book on Cinema: Lata — Sur Gatha 

# Best Movie Critic: G Dhananjayan

# Most Film Friendly State: Uttar Pradesh

For all the Latest Entertainment News, Bollywood News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Apr 2017, 12:04:00 PM