News Nation Logo

'Teri Mitti’ Lyricist Manoj Muntashir Vows To Never ‘Attend Any Award Show’ After Filmfare Snub

In A Long Instagram Post, ‘Teri Mitti’ Lyricist Manoj Muntashir Has Vowed That He Will Never Be Attenting Any Award Show After His Song Lost The Best Lyrics Filmfare Award To Divine And Ankur Tewari For Apna Time Aayega From Gully Boy.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Chanshimla Varah | Updated on: 17 Feb 2020, 03:48:56 PM
Manoj Muntashir Vows To Never ‘Attend Award Show’

Manoj Muntashir Vows To Never ‘Attend Award Show’ (Photo Credit: Instagram)

New Delhi :

In a long Instagram post, ‘Teri Mitti’ lyricist Manoj Muntashir has vowed that he will never be attenting any award show after his song lost the Best Lyrics Filmfare Award to Divine and Ankur Tewari's Apna Time Aayega from Gully Boy.  In his emotional Insta post, Manoj bidding 'alvida' to award shows wrote, "Dear Awards...Even if I try all my life.. I won't be able to write a better song than #TeriMitti, a better line than.. 'Tu Kahti Thee Tera Chaand Hoon Main Aur Chaand Humesha Rahta hai'.

‘’You failed to honor the words which made millions of Indians cry and care for their motherland. It would be a great disrespect to my art if I still continue caring for you. So here I bid you a final good bye. I officially announce- I won't attend any award show till I breathe my last. Alvida (sic)."

View this post on Instagram

Alvida Awards..!!!

A post shared by Manoj Muntashir (@manojmuntashir) on

Zoya Akhtar's Gully Boy scooped a total of 13 major wins for best actor, actress, supporting actor and director.

On the other side of the internet, Boycott Filmfare award is trending on Facebook after movies such as Hrithik Roshan’s Super 30 and Akshay Kumar’s Kesari was snubbed for best movies. The snub let to tweeple digging out old video of Salman Khan lashing out on award shows and why he will never attend them.

I won't go up and pick Filmfare or any stupid award. National Award mile toh that's prestigious. That I'll go and pick’’ Salman can be seen in the now viral video.

The Filmfare Awards which was held on Sunday honoured Gully Boy as Best Film with both Ranveer Singh and Alia Bhatt winning Best Actor and Actress in leading categories, Best director for Zoya Akhtar. Ayushmann Khurrana won Best Actor (Critics) for Article 15) while Ananya Panday was honoured the Best Debut (Female) for Student Of The Year 2 while Abhimanyu Dassani was awarded Best Debut (Male) for Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota.

Also Read: As Ananya Panday Wins ‘Best Debut’, Old Video Of Salman Khan Lashing Out On ‘Filmfare Or Stupid Award’ Surfaces

For all the Latest Entertainment News, Bollywood News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Feb 2020, 03:45:30 PM