News Nation Logo


National Film Awards 2018: Sridevi honoured for MOM

The Prestigious Ceremony Of 65th National Film Awards Is All Set To Be Held In The National Capital On Thursday In The Presence Of President Ram Nath Kovind, Information & Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore And Several Others.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Ranpreet Kaur | Updated on: 03 May 2018, 07:42:25 PM
National Awards 2018: President Ram Nath Kovind to honour the winners today

New Delhi:

The prestigious ceremony of the 65th National Film Awards is all set to be held in the national capital on Thursday in the presence of president Ram Nath Kovind, Information & Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and several others.

President Kovind will be conferring the winners which were announced in last month by a 10 members jury headed by renowned filmmaker Shekhar Kapur. 

The winners include late actress Sridevi who has won the best actress award posthumously for her performance in Mom along with late actor Vinod Khanna who will be honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke award, India's highest film honour. 

While the winners have been ecstatic to for the coveted ceremony, the 65th National Film Awards got mired with a controversy after it was reported that President Ram Nath Kovind will be presenting the awards to 11 winners out of the 140 recipients.

Reportedly, this last minute change was made owing to the President's busy schedule, he has been able to spare an hour for the ceremony.

The reports suggest that the remaining awards will be presented by I&B Minister, Smriti Irani.

Upset with this recent development, several National Award winners have reportedly threatened to boycott the ceremony.

As the 65th National Film Awards are about to begin, we bring you all the live updates about the ceremony:

65th National Film Awards Highlights:

# President Ram Nath Kovind addresses the gathering and remembers Sridevi and Vinod Khanna in his speech

# Smriti Irani addresses the gathering after the awards have been distributed

# Assamese movie Village Rockstars wins the Best Feature Film award at the 65th National Film Award from President Ram Nath Kovind

# Best Cinematography award goes to Nikhil S Praveen for an excellent photography in a difficult terrain in the Malayalam Film Bhayanakam

# Boney Kapoor collects National award from President Ram Nath Kovind on behalf of his wife late actress Sridevi

# Musician A R Rahman wins the National award for MOM

# Akshay Khanna collects Dada Saheb Phalke Award from President Ram Nath Kovind on behalf of his father late actor Vinod Khanna.

# President Ram Nath Kovind arrives at 65th National Film Awards

# Shibu G Suseelan takes home Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut film for Sinjar

# Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment award goes to Baahubali - The Conclusion and the award was received by Prasad Devineni

# National Film Award for best action director goes to King Solomon for the amazingly well-designed action drama Baahubali: The Conclusion 

# Divya Dutta bags the Best Supporting Actress Award for the eye opening film Irada, where the greed of human beings pollutes the environment including the ground water. Irada shows an effort to reverse the same.

# Master Yasharaj Karhade, got a special mention in the Feature Film Section for the Marathi movie Mhorkya

# Best Cinematography award goes to Nikhil S Praveen for an excellent photography in a difficult terrain in the Malayalam Film Bhayanakam

# Best Debut Non-feature film of a Director goes to the movie Water Baby

# The award for best educational film in the Non-feature film section goes to The Little Girl We Were... And The Women We Are

# Ganesh Acharya collects his second National Award. This time he won the honour for the song 'Gori Tu Latth Maar' from Toilet: Ek Prem Katha.

# Manish Mundra takes the Best Hindi Film award for Newton. 

# Ghazi producer Prasad V. Potluri receives Best Telugu Film award.

# Pankaj Tripathi received the honour from Smriti Irani. He won the award for his performance in Rajkummar Rao starrer Newton

# Madhya Pradesh receives the award for the Most Film Friendly State. Uttarakhand received a Special Mention in the same category

# Smriti Irani, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Narendra Kumar Sinha begin the award distribution at the 65th National Film Awards ceremony. 

# Boney Kapoor arrives with his Janhvi Kapoor and Khushi Kapoor to receive the National Award for late actress Sridevi. 

# Late actor Vinod Khanna to be honoured with Dada Saheb Phalke Award. His wife Kavita Khanna and son Akshaye Khanna arrives for65th National Film Awards. The mother-son duo admits it to be a proud and emotional moment for the family.

# Choreographer Ganesh Acharya arrived with his family. He will be receiving the National Award for the second time.

# Pankaj Tripathi arrives with his wife for 65th National Film Awards

# The prestigious ceremony of 65th National Film Awards begin with the history of Indian cinema

# "President attends all award functions and convocations for a maximum of one hour. This has been the protocol since he took office. It was conveyed to Information and Broadcasting Ministry several weeks ago and the ministry knew this all along. Rashtrapati Bhavan is surprised by the 11th hour questions that have been raised," said Ashok Malik, press secretary to the president.

# "It's extremely disappointing. It's unfair. Not to undermine any minister but it's the biggest recognition that an artiste gets from his or her nation and it's given by the president. These winners had already reached Delhi and they were in the middle of their rehearsals when they were informed. That's humiliating," filmmaker Hansal Mehta told Indian Express

# "Sadly, awards these days have lost credibility. Politics and star power rule over truly deserving artists. I don’t care who hands out the awards. I care more about why Akshay Kumar was conferred Best Actor last year and not Manoj Bajpayee for the performance of a lifetime for Aligarh," former National Award winner Apurva Asrani told Indian Express.

# Director Danish Husain said, "The idea of state honouring artists anyway is distasteful. And then to pick & choose a select few for the award ceremony is humiliating them further, and doing disservice to, almost mocking, their talents."

# Filmmaker Ashwini Chaudhary also voiced a similar opinion and said, "I think it is happening for the first time in 65 years that awardees of #NationalFilmAwards won't be felicitated by @rashtrapatibhvn. Only 11 out of 141 will get awards from the President. This is how the best of Indian Cinema is being treated."

# National-award winning filmmaker Rahul Dholakia expressed his views on micro-blogging site Twitter and wrote, "one of the reason the Nation Film Awards are prestigious is because they are handed by the @rashtrapatibhvn - not a minister. This is a moment of a lifetime for Film makers; please don't deprive them of their merit/glory"

# After reports emerged that President Kovind will be giving away only 11 awards. National Award winning Marathi film director Prakash Oak says, ' We feel insulted, 75 awardees are threatening to boycott the award ceremony today.'

# More than 60 National Film Award recipients say they will skip ceremony this evening because President Ram Nath Kovind will present only 11 awards





For all the Latest Entertainment News, Bollywood News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 May 2018, 01:02:39 PM