News Nation Logo

'100 Per Cent Confident Of Forming Govt', NCP's Chhagan Bhujbal Says 50 MLAs With Us

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Leader Chhagan Bhujbal On Sunday Claimed To Form The Government In Maharashtra In Coalition With Congress And Shiv Sena. He Further Said That NCP Has The Support Of 49-50 MLAs.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 24 Nov 2019, 10:59:31 AM
Chhagan Bhujbal Claims Support Of 50 MLAs

New Delhi:

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Chhagan Bhujbal on Sunday claimed to form the government in Maharashtra in coalition with Congress and Shiv Sena. He further said that NCP has the support of 49-50 MLAs. The statement from Chhagan Bhujbal comes a day after Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar took as chief minister and deputy chief minister, respectively.

Talking to the reporters, Chhagan Bhujbal said, “49-50 MLAs of the party are with us right now, 1-2 are coming too. All the MLAs have been kept together here. NCP-Congress-Shiv Sena government will be formed in Maharashtra, 100 per cent.”

Claiming the support of a required number of MLA’s to form the government in Maharashtra, Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar took as chief minister and deputy chief minister on Saturday early morning. The governor has given BJP a deadline of November 30 to prove their majority. However, Shiv Sena, NCP, and Congress said that the move was unconstitutional. Also, the three parties filed a writ petition against the swearing-in ceremony of Devendra Fadnavis in the Supreme Court.

Meanwhile, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar distanced himself and his party from the Ajit Pawar's decision. He said that there is an anti-defection law in place.

Also Read: Maharashtra LIVE: All Eyes On Supreme Court Today, Hearing To Begin At 11.30 AM

The BJP, which emerged as the single largest party in the state elections last month, could not earlier stake claim to form a government after it could not reach an agreement with its former ally Shiv Sena on its "50:50" demand. The BJP won 105 seats in the 288-member assembly followed by the Shiv Sena (56). The NCP won 54 seats and the Congress had won 44 seats.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Nov 2019, 10:59:31 AM