News Nation Logo


2008 Mumbai terror attacks anniversary: Remembering the brave hearts of 26/11

On The 9th Anniversary Of Deadly 2008 Mumbai Terror Attacks, We Remember The Five Of The Many Brave Hearts Who Lost Their Life Fighting The Enemies.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 26 Nov 2017, 06:12:25 PM
Remembering the brave hearts of 2008 Mumbai terror attacks

New Delhi:

They were brave, they made terrorists bite chicken peas with their nose, and they fought till their last breath in service to mother land. On the 9th anniversary of deadly 26/11 Mumbai terror attacks, we remember the five of the many brave hearts who lost their life fighting the enemies.

Hemant Karkare AC – The chief of the Mumbai Anti-Terrorist Squad (ATS), Ashok Chakra Hemant Karkare martyred in action during the 2008 Mumbai terro atatcks. He was shot three times in the chest by terrorists.

Ashok Kamte AC – He was the one who shot terrorist Ajmal Kasab in the arm. A highly experienced police service officer, the brave heart Kamate was shot dead by the terrorist during encounter. His martyrdom was awarded with the Ashok Chakra.

Tukaram Gopal Omble AC-  Tukaram Gopal Omble, an assistant sub-inspector (ASI) in Mumbai Police and a retired army man died during the 2008 Mumbai attacks. He played significant role in catching Ajmal Kasab alive. HE was also awarded with the Ashok Chakra for his extraordinary bravery and valour.

Suggested Read | 26/11 Mumbai terror attack: Ajmal Kasab, the killer of innocents

Vijay Salaskar AC – The Additional Commissioner of Mumbai Police, Vijay Salaskar was the encounter specialist and one of victims of a terrorist's bullet. He also died in the encounter with terrorists during 26/11 Mumbai attacks. He was also awarded the Ashok Chakra, India's highest peace time gallantry award.

Major Sandeep Unnikrishnan – AC Major Sandeep Unnikrishnan was an Army officer serving in the elite Special Action Group of the National Security Guards. He martyred fighting terrorists during 2008 Mumbai terror attacks. He was consequently awarded the Ashoka Chakra on 26 January 2009.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Nov 2017, 06:09:17 PM