News Nation Logo


29 Indian cities, towns fall under seismically active earthquake zones

According To The National Centre For Seismology (NCS), 29 Indian Cities And Towns, Including Delhi And Capitals Of Nine States, Fall Under “severe' To “very Severe' Seismic Zones.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vivek Arya | Updated on: 30 Jul 2017, 04:50:39 PM
Representational Image

New Delhi:

According to the National Centre for Seismology (NCS), 29 Indian cities and towns, including Delhi and capitals of nine states, fall under “severe” to “very severe” seismic zones.

Besides these regions, a majority of places in the Himalayas come under highly seismically active regions in the world. Delhi, Srinagar (Jammu and Kashmir), Kohima (Nagaland), Patna (Bihar), Guwahati (Assam), Puducherry, Chandigarh, Imphal (Manipur), Gangtok (Sikkim), Dehradun (Uttarakhand) and Shimla (Himachal Pradesh) come under seismic zones IV and V. Talking about the population of these cities, it is over three crore. 

The director of the NCS Vineet Gauhlat said that the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) has classified different regions in the country into zones II to V, taking into consideration earthquake records, tectonic activities and damage caused.

The NCS, which records earthquakes and carries out studies pertaining to microzonation of cities, comes under the India Meteorological Department (IMD). Seismic microzonation is the process of subdividing a region into smaller areas having different potential for hazardous earthquake effects.

ALSO READ: Earth Sciences Minister Harsh Vardhan launches natural disaster alert apps — India Quake and Sagar Vani

Zone II is considered the least seismically active, while Zone V is the most active. Zone IV and V fall under “severe” to “very severe” categories respectively. Entire northeastern region including parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarkhand, the Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, parts of north Bihar and the Andaman and Nicobar archipelago fall under Zone V.

Zone IV includes parts of Delhi, northern Uttar Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Gujarat, West Bengal and a small part of Maharashtra. Gujarat’s Bhuj, which was struck by a massive earthquake in 2001 comes under zone IV. More than 20,000 people were killed in that quake. Besides Bhuj, Chandigarh, Ambala, Amritsar, Ludhiana and Roorkee come under Zones IV and V.

Kusala Rajendran, a professor at the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru, and an expert on paleoseismology, earthquake recurrence and active tectonics, said most of the cities in the list have a high population density and fall in the Indo-Gangetic plains.

“The Himalayan arc, stretching from the upper Assam region to Jammu and Kashmir, is known to be a high seismic zone and these cities in the Indo-Gangetic belt fall within reasonable limits of the Himalayas. So repercussions are bound to be felt there,” she observed.

M Rajeevan, Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, said 31 new earthquake observatories will come up in the country by March next year. At present, there are 84 observatories. This is being done to detect and record earthquake parameters more accurately and identify possible precursors of tremors.

The NCS has also carried out microzonation of cities like Delhi and Kolkata to study the possible impact of earthquake in these mega cities.

With PTI inputs.

ALSO READ: 5.2 magnitude earthquake jolts India-Pak border region in J&K

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Jul 2017, 04:50:39 PM

Related Tags:

Earthquake Seismic Zone